LibGuides: Chemistry Resources: Web Resources

Search All MSU E-Resources

Electronic resources available include books, encyclopedias, reference texts, journals, databases, and indexes. Most of these resources are paid for by the MSU Libraries and are accessible from anywhere on campus. Many of these resources are also available for use by off-campus users via a proxy server.

E-Resources Page
A-Z Journal Title List or search journals by subject area or ISSN.
Browse journal titles by publisher.

Open Access Databases

Cambridge Structural Database
world repository of small molecule crystal structures
ChemView
Health and safety information submitted to EPA under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). This information is intended for individuals interested in learning more about chemicals that are manufactured or imported into the United States.
Chemical Information Sources Wiki
Chemical Information Sources Wikibook is a guide to the many sources of reference materials available to those with questions related to chemistry, regardless of the format. Included are printed books, journals, and reference materials, as well as both free and commercial databases, software, and other computer-accessible resources
ChemIDplus Advanced
a database of 350,000 chemicals with links to relevant databases from National Library of Medicine
ChemSources.com
chemical information database used by researchers & industrialists to find worldwide producers of laboratory & commercial chemicals for sale
Combinatorial Chemistry Review
provides a basic introduction to the field of combinatorial chemistry, describing the development of major techniques and some applications
OSTI.gov
Bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and purse substances. Features physical, thermoydynamic, mechanical and other key properties.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 42 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2000 scientific Websites
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds

Chemistry Education Resources

CAS Chemistry Education Page
from the ACS - includes "Molecule of the Week" and the ACS Calendar
Information Competencies for Chemistry Undergraduates
The information competencies listed here identify the skills and knowledge that chemistry undergraduates should have by the completion of a bachelors degree in chemistry. Students who achieve proficiency in these areas will have a firm understanding of how to navigate the scientific and chemical literature, and will be well-prepared for graduate work and/or employment as a chemist.
Beilstein TV
scientific videos directly from the researchers themselves; scientists take you into the heart of their lab, invite you to fascinating lectures, and share their findings with you in person.

Chemistry Magazines & Blogs

Although not scholarly sources, the following sites can help you keep up to date with the field and provide information on professional opportunities as well as emerging research areas:

Chemistry World (Royal Society of Chemistry)
Chemical & Engineering News
Compound Interest blog

Practice Problems

Organic Chemistry Practice Problems - Michigan State University
Problems are meant to be useful study tools for students involved in most undergraduate organic chemistry courses

Helpful Online Tools

Chemical Reaction Calculator
Chemical Reaction Calculator is a tool which makes calculations easy and fun. It is used to calculate the balanced equation and equilibrium constant when a chemical equation is given.
Normality and Molarity Calculator
he molarity calculator tool provides lab-ready directions describing how to prepare an acid or base solution of specified Molarity (M) or Normality (N) from a concentrated acid or base solution. To prepare a solution from a solid reagent, please use the Mass Molarity Calculator. To dilute a solution of known molarity, please use the Solution Dilution Calculator. (Sigma-Aldrich)
Tips from the Experts - Searching Inorganic Substances in SciFinder
A. Ben Wagner, University of Buffalo. Assists researchers and librarians to accurately and completely search Chemical Abstracts Service's (CAS) SciFinder web-based system for inorganic substances, excepting coordination compounds. CAS indexing policies and conventions in handling the wide variety of inorganic materials are described in detail. Detailed search strategies for retrieving salts, oxides, sulfides, minerals, alloys, metal clusters, tabular inorganics, indeterminate derivatives, and unknown/variable compositions are reviewed.