ACS Green Chemistry Institute® (ACS GCI) offers to support to advance research in green chemistry by promoting funding, increasing opportunities, and developing information on the benefits of green chemistry.
Supports fundamental research directly related to petroleum or fossil fuels at nonprofit institutions (generally colleges and universities) in the United States and other countries.
The Cottrell Scholar (CS) program funds early career teacher-scholars in chemistry, physics and astronomy by providing discretionary awards for research.
The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.
The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a National Science Foundation provides awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization.
The National Science Foundation funds research and education in most fields of science and engineering. The Chemistry Division supports research in all traditional areas of chemistry and in multidisciplinary fields that draw upon the chemical sciences. The Division also supports projects that help build infrastructure, workforce, and partnerships that advance the chemical sciences. The following site provides an index of all NSF Chemistry funding opportunities. Users can also find all NSF funding opportunities under the "Funding" tab.
NIGMS places great emphasis on the support of individual, investigator-initiated grants within its scientific mission areas. Most grants are for research projects (R01), but NIGMS also funds program projects (P01) as well as some research resources.
The Research Project Grant (R01) is the original and historically oldest grant mechanism used by NIH. The R01 provides support for health-related research and development based on the mission of the NIH.
The Lilly Research Awards Program was established in 2011 to provide an avenue to Lilly scientists working in basic research for engaging external research groups in academia or small biotechnology companies possessing valuable expertise in the area.
The ASBMB-Merck Award recognizes outstanding contributions to research in biochemistry and molecular biology. Nominations must be originated by Society members, but the nominees need not be ASBMB members. The Award consists of a plaque, $5,000, transportation, and expenses to the ASBMB Annual Meeting to present a lecture.
General Grant Sources
Below are two general sources for finding grant information. Chemistry students and faculty may also be interested in field specific grants which can be found using the "Chemistry Grants" box which includes specific information on organizational, government, and industry grants.
According to the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDOP) database provides subscribers with unprecedented access to a wide array of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes information on nearly 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs (with sponsoring company information), and grantmaking public charities, as well as a searchable database of 500,000 recently awarded grants. Includes Foundation Grants to Individuals as of March 2024.
The new "Foundation Portfolio" feature organizes funder-specific content in one convenient location in the application, and includes: the funder profile and most recent 990s and, particularly for the larger foundations: the ability to search within a funder's grants list, using customized search indexes; full-color downloadable charts that show the distribution of the funder's grants in multiple categories; funder-related news, requests for proposals (RPFs), job opportunities, publications and articles (updated daily); and trustees, officers, donors, and other key staff, with titles and affiliations. A special 990 Search feature allows subscribers to search across the text of every 990 that we have in our database attached to a grantmaker record. Updated weekly.
Electronic Grants Administration & Management System (EGrAMS) is a new electronic database for finding Michigan State government grants, as well as grants from other sources -- covering anywhere from 300-500 current funding opportunities at any given time.
More Grant Finding Information
The following guide created by MSU Libraries includes a more detailed compilation of resources for grant and financial aid seekers.
