Buddhism: Indexes to Periodicals

It is the major index for materials related to East Asia, Southeast Asia, and South Asia in the humanities, social sciences, and selected natural sciences, such as medicine, public health, geology, and the environment. For 1971-91, the online BAS contains the full data of the printed version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies, which includes citations to Western language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften. Monographs published since 1992 are not included. Doctoral dissertations and masters' theses are seldom included. Keyword searching is available and is generally the most powerful way to search BAS online. Entries can also be accessed by author, subject, country, and journal title. To assist searchers, the subject classification in the BAS is available online at http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/b/bas/help/subcla.htm. Subject heading ideas: [place name]--philosophy & religion--Buddhism; Pali canon; Buddhist clerics; meditation.

1984-
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Current issues are beginning to be included, but were not initially. Years covered vary for each journal included. Click on "browse" when you enter the system to see the lists of journals covered and the years. This is a useful system for religion because many history, philosophy, Middle East studies, Asian studies, and Slavic studies titles are included. Subject heading ideas: any word(s) you can think of that might possibly be found in a journal article title on your topic, or words that might be found in the abstract/description of the article.

Covers a good many history and philosophy journals. Subject heading ideas: Project Muse's subject headings are the Library of Congress' subject headings, which are those used for subject searching in our online catalog. See the list of possible subjects in the section of this research guide called "Using the Online Catalog." You may also search by keywords, any word you think might be found in the title of an article on your topic.