Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Seed Library at MSU Libraries

The MSU Library Seed Library is a publicly accessible place to pick-up some seeds for vegetable, herb and flower growing.

Mix - Good Bugs

Good Bugs Collection seeds, dimeGood Bugs Collection

This colorful mix of Michigan native, perennial, wildflowers contains plants that attract and provide food and habitat for beneficial insects and pollinators. Plants range in height from 3-5 feet tall and require a full sun location. Once established they are relatively low maintenance.

Growing days:65+
Sun: Full

Growing: This mix require a “cold stratification” or cold treatment before they will germinate. Choose one of 3 options: 1) sow seeds outside before March 1st. 2) mix the seeds into ½ cup of moist sand in a sealed plastic bag and place in the refrigerator for 6-8 weeks before planting. 3) Plant the seeds in the fall so they are naturally exposed to the cold & will germinate the following spring/summer. More information: Growing.

Mix includes: Black-eyed Susan (Rudbeckia hirta); Golden Alexanders (Zizia aurea);Swamp Milkweed (Asclepias incarnata); Sand Coreopsis (Coreopsis lanceolata); Stiff Goldenrod (Solidago rigida); Foxglove Beard-tongue (Penstemon digitalis); Beebalm (Monarda fistulosa); New-England Aster (Aster novae-angliae); Mountain Mint (Pycnanthemum virginianum); Ironweed (Vernonia missurica)..

Mix - Michigan Wildflower

Michigan Wildflower Mix seeds, dimeMichigan WildfloewsMichigan Wildflower Mix

The Michigan Blend contains a variety of native wildflowers that are formulated specifically for growing in Michigan and midwestern climates. This wildflower mix contains flowers native to or naturalized to Michigan.

Sowing the seeds
Sand should be added to wildflower mixes that do not have filler already mixed in. Sand will help spread seeds better without clumps and can be seen better to aid in spreading. with sand for better visibilty and scatter the seeds directly on top of the soil

After the seeds has been spread out they should be lighly compressing into the soil, making sure not to bury them but compressed enough so rain and wind will not move.

It is important to keep the soil moist until the seedlings are about 4-6″ tall. After that, the seedlings will survive on natural rains. During dry weather the occasional watering will help. Do not let soil dry out while they are seedlings are this will kill the plants.

Mix includes:

Purple Coneflower (Echinacea purpurea); Scarlet Flax (Linum grandiflorum rubrum); Annual Candytuft (Iberis umbellata); Dwarf Blue Cornflower (Centaurea cyanus); Lance Leaved Coreopsis (Coreopsis lanceolata); Annual Baby’s breath (Gypsophila elegans); Indian Blanket (Gaillardia pulchella); ‘Alaska’ Shasta Daisy (Chrysanthemum maximum); Purple Praire Clover (Dalea purpurea); Mixed Corn Poppy (Papaver rhoeas mixed); Clasping Coneflower (Rudbeckia amplexicaulis); Black-Eyed Susan (Rudbeckia hirta); Prairie Coneflower (Ratibida columnifera); Plains Coreopsis (Coreopsis tinctoria)

Mix - Save the Bees

Save the Bees Wildflower Collection seeds, dimeMicihgan Wildflowers in bloomSave the Bees Wildflower Collection

From Nature and Nurture Seeds, this mix of flowers includes: Beebalm (Monarda fistulosa); Yellow Coneflower (Ratibida pinnata); Hairy Beard-tongue (Penstemon hirsutus); Tall Coreopsis (Coreopsis tripteris); Spiderwort (Tradescantia ohiensis); Great Blue Lobelia (Lobelia Siphilitica); Culver's Root (Veronicastrum virginicum); Joe Pye Weed (Eupatorium maculatum); Showy Goldenrod (Solidago speciosa); Smooth Aster, (Aster laevis).

Growing:
This mix require a “cold stratification” or cold treatment before they will germinate.
Choose one of 3 options: 1) sow seeds outside before March 1st. 2) mix the seeds into ½ cup of moist sand in a sealed plastic bag and place in the refrigerator for 6-8 weeks before planting. 3) Plant the seeds in the fall so they are naturally exposed to the cold & will germinate the following spring/summer. More information: Growing.

Marigolds

Sparky Mix Marigold seedsMarigolds in bloomSparky Mix French Marigold (Tagetes patula)

Combines yellow, gold, orange and red blooms on free-flowering compact 10–12" plants. Double flowers are 2–2½" wide with smoother petals than Brocade. Darold Decker intro from the late ’50s.

Small bushy plants with flowers approximately 2" across in a wide range of colors including yellows, oranges, rich reds, mahogany and bicolors. Bloom styles, depending on the cultivar, can be single, crested, semi-double or fully double. Outstanding edging plants bloom early summer till frost and stand well in all weather.

Sow after soil has warmed, or inside in a warm (75–80°) spot, 3 weeks before setting out after danger of frost.

Seeds and growing:

Growing days: 45-50
Sun: Full sun
Start seeds indoors between mid-April and the first of May.

Nasturtium

Tall Climbing Mix Nasturtium seeds, dimeNasturtiums in bloomTall Climbing Mix Nasturtium (Tropaeolum majus)

Tall winding plants that grow to 4–6', sprouting flowers in red, orange, gold and exquisite bicolor shades. The red blossoms have a spicier taste than those of lighter colors. Plants will spread and fill in a huge space but as they haven't tendrils cannot easily climb, but drape.

Growing days: 65
Start seeds indoors between mid-April and the first of May. Transplant after overnight temperatures are above 50°. Plant them ~10" apart.
Or, direct sow outdoors after last frost, late May, sowing 1" deep at 9-10" spacing.
 

Sunflowers

Sunflower, Tiger's Eye Mix seeds, dimeSunflowers in bloomSunflower, Tiger's Eye Mix (Helianthus annuus)

This multi-headed variety has a mix of single and double blooms with petal colors ranging from pale yellow to deep maroon. Sturdy 6-8’ plants grow well even in hot, dry locations with low soil fertility.

Seeds and growing:

Growing days: 45-50
Sun: Full sun
Start seeds indoors between mid-April and the fist of May. Transplant outdoors after frost dander, at 8"-14" spacing.
Or, direct sow outdoors after last frost,late May, sowing 1" deep at 8"-14" spacing.

Zinnia

Zinnia Lilliput Mixed Colors (Zinnia elegans)

This assortment of zinnias have smaller heads and grow 18"-24" tall. They grow well in flower beds and containers and are attractive to bees and birds. The are great for cut flower arrangements. If deadheaded, plants will bloom continuously through summer to frost.

Growing:

Start indoors 4-6 weeks before the last frost and transplant after last frost, spaced 8-12" apart after the last frost. If sowing outside, sow a few seeds every 8-12" when soil is over 70ºF.

Michigan State University