Michigan Fresh: Starting Seeds (E3176) by 
Starting plants at home by
Instructions on starting plants indoors in Michigan before transplanting into an outdoor garden. Information on why to start early, planting seed, how to select starter plants, planting time, types of containers and soils to use and how to sterilize both before planting, water and light requirements, fertilizing, and hardening off plants before permanently placing them in an outdoor garden.
Space saving ideas by
Just because you don't have lots of space is no reason not have a garden. Many great gardens are grown in small spaces. Use containers on a balcony, or combine vegetables with flowers. Vegetables look good, so enjoy them where ever you can find room.
Burpee Seed Starter by
Seed Starter offers a detailed plant encyclopedia, profiling 300 popular annuals, perennials, vegetables, and herbs and listing all the basic growing needs of the plant, including soil and light needs. Complete and up-to-date information on sowing indoors and outdoors, fertilizing, watering, thinning, transplanting, and troubleshooting. Extensive appendices cover average first and last frost dates, indoor and outdoor planting guides, popular vegetable and herb planting charts, and seeds that need light to germinate.
The Magic of Seeds: the nature-lover's guide to growing garden flowers and herbs from seed by
The ultimate reference to growing plants from seed. Seeds are magical. Every little one has the potential to become a new plant and give you more seeds - connecting us to the circle of life and nature's endless ability to surprise and delight. The act of planting seeds and watching them grow into seedlings and then on into productive plants is enormously therapeutic. Even when things don't go to plan, the gardener is constantly learning, growing and deepening their connection to nature. It's an incredibly grounding and humbling experience that feeds the soul of the gardener. This beautifully illustrated guide will show readers how and when to harvest the seeds of 100 different garden plants and flowers, with advice on when and how to sow them, and where and when to plant them out. Alongside this hands-on guidance, the reader will be engaged with snippets of folklore and traditions that further enhance their appreciation of nature and help them discover the inherent magic of seeds. Whether the reader is a practising green witch, or simply an amateur gardener with a spiritual affinity with nature, this book will give them everything they need to successfully make a garden from seed and unlock the wonders of nature.
New-Seed Starters by
Starting plants from a seed grants earlier harvests, greater variety, healthier seedlings, lower costs, and the undeniable sense of satisfaction and reward. For the most complete, up-to-date information on starting plants from seed, turn to The New Seed-Starter's Handbook. Written by a gardener with 30 years of experience, this updated, easy-to-use reference explains everything you need to know to start seeds and raise healthy seedlings successfully. You'll find- - The latest research in seed starting - The best growing media - The newest gardening materials - Solutions to seed-starting problems - Source lists for seeds and hard-to-find gardening supplies The robust encyclopedia section lists more than 200 plants-including vegetables and fruits, garden flowers, wildflowers, herbs, trees, and shrubs-with details on how to start each from seed.
The Seed Starter's Handbook by
A practical guide to growing vegetables from home-grown seeds includes clear explanations of the basic botanical principles of germination, dormancy, and light response and special tips for buying and selling seeds and seedlings
Starting Seeds: How to grow healthly, productive vegetables, herbs, and flowers from seed by
Get a jump on the gardening season! In this Storey BASICS® guide, Barbara Ellis provides the basic information that you need to start a variety of vegetables, herbs, and flowers from seed. Ellis shares simple, proven techniques for sowing seeds, managing indoor plants, and creating proper growing conditions so your seedlings can thrive. Packed with expert advice suitable for both beginners and experienced gardeners, Starting Seeds will inspire you to plant a seed and watch it grow.
Starting from Seed: The natural gardener's guide to propagating plants by
Starting from seed is the only way to get access to the world's vast storehouse of edible, ornamental, and wild plants. Growing seeds is also a great way to preserve the planet's botanical riches, from disappearing heirloom vegetables to beleaguered wildflowers. This fully illustrated, easy-to-use guide includes everything you need to know to collect, store, and grow seeds successfully, whether you're a novice or an experienced gardener.
Starting and Saving Seeds: Grow the perfect vegetables, fruits, herbs, and flowers for your garden by
Grow fabulous food and flowers from seeds, then save seeds to make next year's garden even better. Creating dinner from food you've grown provides a fantastic sense of accomplishment. Now, imagine the pleasure of starting plants from seeds, tending them, planting them in your garden, harvesting their fruits, and enjoying a delicious meal or bouquet. But that's not the end of the journey. Now you can turn around and save the best seeds for next year's garden. Suddenly, you're self-sufficient; you've grown your own garden from seed to seed. In this book, you'll find the tools you need to become a seed starting and saving champion. Author and gardening expert Julie Thompson-Adolf walks you through every step of the journey, making the entire process a joy. You'll find hints to encourage stubborn seeds to germinate, lists of varieties to add to your garden, charts for quick growing reference, and simple DIY projects to aid your seed starting and saving adventure. (Learn how to make seed bombs and an indoor seed-starting station.) The extensive plant entries inside cover all the most popular vegetables, fruits, herbs, and flowers. Get started with tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, and melons, or chamomile, cosmos, sweet peas, and poppies--accompanied by beautiful photography from Libby Williams. Whether you're an experienced gardener new to seed starting and saving or a brand-new grower, you'll soon have healthy, productive, beautiful plants for your garden.
Plantiful: Start small, grow big with 150 plants that spread, self-sow, and overwinter. by
"Thrifty gardeners take note: the bucks saved on plant purchases will pay back the purchase price of Plantiful with dividends." --Tovah Martin, author of The Unexpected Houseplant Whoever coined the phrase "money doesn't grow on trees" must not have been a resourceful gardener. Plantiful shows you how to have an easy, gorgeous garden packed with plants by simply making the right choices. Kristen Green highlights plants that help a garden quickly grow by self-sowing and spreading and teaches you how to expand the garden and extend the life of a plant by overwintering. The book features plant profiles for 50 self-sowers (including columbine, milkweed, and foxglove), 50 spreaders (such as clematis, snow poppy, and spearmint), and 50 plants that overwinter (including lemon verbena, begonia, and Chinese hibiscus). Additional gardening tips, design ideas, and inspirational photos will motivate and inspire gardeners of all levels.
Quintessential guide to seed gardening for novices and dummies by 
Garden Flowers from Seed by
This unique book is a dialogue between two extraordinarily knowledgeable and opinionated plantsmen who offer valuable advice on which seed-raised flowers to grow, how to germinate and tend to them, and how to use them in the garden. The discussion is informative, urbane, and entertaining.Published at $22.95 Available Now at $11.49
Simple propagation : propagation by seed, division, layering, cuttings, budding and grafting by 
