Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Drug References Online
These references provide information on drug classification, dosage, administration route, ingredient name, proprietary name, potency, indications, contraindications, use in children/adults/geriatric populations, warnings, and other labeling and dispensary information.
Ahfs Drug Information 2016 (Online Resource) by
Publication Date: 2016-01-18
Evidence-based and peer-reviewed references, compiled by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) without the influence of manufacturers, insurers, regulators, or other interested parties. AHFS DI has been designated as an official compendium by the US Congress and contains information from medical literature and expert advice.
General Drug References--Hardcopy Books in Main Library Closed Reference
American Drug Index by
Call Number: RS355 .A48 ed.59 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Organized like a dictionary, The ADI includes composition, strength, doseform, packaging, schedule, and usage for approximately 22,000 brand and official USP generic drugs.
Call Number: RS141.3 .M37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-16
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference provides reliable, unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines used throughout the world.
MSU Licensed Databases
Although MSU Libraries does not subscribe to the pharmaceutical databases LexiComp or Micromedex, many of our current database resources have drug information in them. The scope and number of drugs in each product differs and we suggest searching a few different databases and using both the generic and trade name for a drug to find the best results.
Clinical Key has over 2,800 clinical pharmacology drug monographs from Gold Standard. Select the drug monographs using the drop down menu to the left of the main search box.
DynamedPlus is the point-of-care tool that MSU Libraries subscribes to. It includes some drug monographs and you can search for its trade name, generic name, or class in the main search box.
Online Resources: General Information from the National Library of Medicine
DailyMed has listings for over 76000 FDA-approved drug listings for humans and animals. It is the official provider of FDA label information. It includes an archive of labels and a tablet/pill identification tool.
National Library of Medicine Drug Portal
The NLM's Drug Portal offers a varied selection of resources and focused topics in medicine and drug-related information. More than 70,000 drugs are available for searching.
Online Resources from Regulatory Agencies
US Federal Drug Administration
The US Food and Drug Administration is the governmental body in the United States that approves drugs (among other things) for sale to the public. You can search for a drug by name, active ingredient, or application number.
European Medicines Agency
The EMA publishes an European public assessment report (EPAR) for every medicine granted a central marketing authorisation by the European Commission following an assessment by the EMA's Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP). EPARs are full scientific assessment reports of medicines authorised at a European Union level. The medication information includes a summary of its use, dosage, and other pertinent facts as well as a copy of the package leaflet provided by the manufacturer.
Health Canada Drug Product Database
Health Canada, the Canadian equivalent of the FDA, has built a database where you can search, for free, any medication, supplement, or medical device approved for use in Canada. It includes recall notices and other safety information.