Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Natural Medicines Database
Natural Medicines is one of the most authoritative databases for research-based information on the safety, effectiveness, and side effects of dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
Free online resources from the NLM and NIH
CARDs: Computer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements (CARDS) Database
It is a database of federally funded research projects pertaining to dietary supplements. Currently, CARDS contains projects funded by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), the Department of Defense (DOD) and the Institutes and Centers (ICs) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) beginning with fiscal year 1999.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
From the National Institutes of Health, LIVERTOX® provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
Medline Plus: Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Medicine
A branch of the National Institutes of Health that includes fact sheets, safety warnings, and information about complementary health products and practices.