LibGuides: Drug Resources: Drug References

General Drug References Online

These references provide information on drug classification, dosage, administration route, ingredient name, proprietary name, potency, indications, contraindications, use in children/adults/geriatric populations, warnings, and other labeling and dispensary information.

AHFS® Drug Information® 2024 by ASHP
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781585287215
Publication Date: 2024-02-29
AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available-all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses. With expanded and revised content supported by more than 97,000 references and incorporating the advice of numerous subject matter experts, AHFS DI helps you protect your patients and your practice. Updates in the new edition: Clinical perspective sections that include place of therapy discussions and recommendations from therapeutic guidelines. Expanded coverage of specialty medications used to treat a variety of complex, chronic conditions that often require special handling and administration and may require careful oversight to manage severe adverse effects and dosage adjustments. Contemporary topics such as new RSV treatments and vaccines, safety issues associated with the glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) agonists, novel orphan drugs, biosimilars, and more. Expanded content on new and emerging gene therapies. Updates to a variety of vaccine monographs including the pneumococcal, rabies, and respiratory syncytial virus vaccinesExpanded content on off-label uses and long-term clinical data, MedWatch alerts, Standardize4Safety information, REMS data, and focused FDA updates for various medications. New content on over 175 new molecular entities (NMEs) or new therapeutic biological products and substantive revisions on approximately 190 medications.

MSU Licensed Databases

MSU Libraries does not subscribe to the pharmaceutical databases Lexicomp or Micromedex. If you are affiliated or rotating at a hospital these may be available through them. Contact your hospital librarian for more information.

Many of our current database resources have drug information in them. The scope and number of drugs in each product differs and we suggest searching a few different databases and using both the generic and trade name for a drug to find the best results.

DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynamedPlus is the point-of-care tool that MSU Libraries subscribes to. It includes some drug monographs and you can search for its trade name, generic name, or class in the main search box. It includes drug dosage calculators.
Litt's Drug Eruption Database This link opens in a new window
This unique website allows you to search the profiles of thousands of generic and trade name drugs, while also providing over 125,000 references that link directly to PubMed.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key has over 2,800 clinical pharmacology drug monographs from Gold Standard. Select the drug monographs using the drop down menu to the left of the main search box.
Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
From the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), Pediatric Care Online is a practical and convenient resource integrating a full range of essential pediatric-specific clinical information and premier patient education content. This innovative and dynamic tool includes a wealth of point-of-care references, tools, videos, handouts, and more.
USP–NF This link opens in a new window
USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Monographs for drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations are featured in the USP. Monographs for dietary supplements and ingredients appear in a separate section of the USP. Excipient monographs are in the NF. It also includes the Food Chemicals Codex. **Individual registration is required**

Online Resources: General Information from the National Library of Medicine

DailyMed
DailyMed has listings for over 76000 FDA-approved drug listings for humans and animals. It is the official provider of FDA label information. It includes an archive of labels and a tablet/pill identification tool.
LactMed
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.

Online Resources from Regulatory Agencies

US Federal Drug Administration
The US Food and Drug Administration is the governmental body in the United States that approves drugs (among other things) for sale to the public. You can search for a drug by name, active ingredient, or application number.
European Medicines Agency
The EMA publishes an European public assessment report (EPAR) for every medicine granted a central marketing authorisation by the European Commission following an assessment by the EMA's Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP). EPARs are full scientific assessment reports of medicines authorised at a European Union level. The medication information includes a summary of its use, dosage, and other pertinent facts as well as a copy of the package leaflet provided by the manufacturer.
Health Canada Drug Product Database
Health Canada, the Canadian equivalent of the FDA, has built a database where you can search, for free, any medication, supplement, or medical device approved for use in Canada. It includes recall notices and other safety information.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Drug Resources: Drug References

On This Page

General Drug References Online

MSU Licensed Databases

Online Resources: General Information from the National Library of Medicine

Online Resources from Regulatory Agencies