Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

LGBTQ+ Resources in Special Collections: Archival collections

Anne E. Tracy collection

The Anne E. Tracy collection contains correspondence, notes, inventories, and miscellaneous material related to the creation of the Special Collections LGBTQ+ collection at MSU Libraries, as well as some biographical material on Anne E. Tracy. The collection traces some of the research done by Tracy to build the LGBT collection, and gives examples of how the collection began to be used in course instruction.

Bill Beachler papers

The Bill Beachler Papers include photos, correspondence, news clippings, concert programs from LGBTQ choruses, and records of Beachler's activity with numerous organizations.

Bill Beachler (1945-2016) was a Lansing-area activist for LGBTQ rights, and a long-time employee of the Michigan Department of Transportation. Beachler was a founding member of the Lansing Association for Human Rights. He also served 14 years as an East Lansing City Commissioner. Beachler created the Pride Scholarship Fund for LGBTQ students at MSU.

Dignity Archive

The Dignity Archive includes conference papers, newsletters, leaflets and other publications from Dignity chapters throughout the United States, covering the years 1969 to 1985. The archive comprises of five boxes containing about 100 file folders of material collected and donated by Steven L. Berg.

The Dignity organization began in 1969 as a ministry for gay and lesbian Roman Catholics.

Emily Dievendorf papers

The Emily Dievendorf papers contain letters, resources, and ephemera relating to her activism as the Executive Director of Equality Michigan, advocating for the inclusion of transgender women at the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, and for the rights of trans-, pan-, and other sexual minorities.

Emily Dievendorf is a Lansing activist and non-profit consultant who has served in various Michigan organizations and local committees, such as Equality Michigan, LAHR, the Lansing Area AIDS Network, Ingham County Womens Commission, and the Michigan Advisory Committee to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.

Episcopal Church reports and clippings on homosexuality

The Episcopal Church reports and clippings on homosexuality collection consists of material in relation to the 1976 General Convention of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America and the two resolutions concerning the support of same-sex relationships and the ordination of homosexuals, including committee reports, memos, notes, and clippings.

Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Rights Press Photographs collection

The Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Rights Press Photographs collection (1970-1990s) is comprised of images from protests and demonstrations in various United States cities. Many photographs have typewritten or handwritten captions on the back and some have press stamps.

Gay Magazine collection

The Gay Magazine collection includes gay magazines, gay couples magazines, swinger magazines, porn video magazines, a segment of leather lifestyle magazines, special issues of Playgirl and Playboy magazines. The majority of the magazines date from the 1960s and 1970s.

Gay Pulp Paperback Book collection

The Gay Pulp Paperback Book collection includes more than 600 examples of gay men's pulp fiction, primarily from the 1970s.

Titles are listed individually in the finding aid. Works are arranged first by publishers' series title, then by author or author's pseudonym.

George H. Conger Photograph collection

The George H. Conger Photograph collection includes primarily male nude photography, from several dozen different studios.

Goldenrod Music records

The Goldenrod Music records (1976-2011) contain sales catalogs, posters, artists' press kits, photographs, administrative records, and approximately 700 recordings in vinyl, cassette, and CD formats by lesbian and feminist women musicians.

Goldenrod Music LLC is a women's music distributor, based in Lansing, Michigan and founded by Terry Grant. Born out of the second wave feminist movement and women's music movement, Goldenrod was originally one of 60 independent women's music distributors, and as a result of the evolving music industry, became the last still in operation.

Jamie Anderson papers

The Jamie Anderson papers consist of personal and business correspondence, ephemera, published articles and reviews, concert and album material, research, photographs, interviews, and recorded performances.

Jamie Anderson is an out lesbian singer, songwriter, and musician who has been a constant presence in women’s music since the 1980s. Throughout the 1990s and 2000s, she performed in many women’s musical festivals, such as the National Women’s Music Festival, the East Coast Lesbian Festival, and the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival. Anderson is also a published author, you can find a copy of her book An Army of Lovers: Women's Music of the Seventies and Eighties in our library.

Janis Walworth Camp Trans collection

The Janis Walworth Camp Trans collection consist of material compiled by Janis Walworth from 1991 to 1994 in connection to Camp Trans. Including literature and surveys distributed at the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, photographs, publications and a banner used in 1994.

Camp Trans was born of a response against the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival policy of "womyn born womyn." In 1994, Camp Trans attracted a large group of people, including Leslie Feinberg, Minnie Bruce Pratt, and Riki Wilchins. Walworth did not help lead any of the subsequent Camp Trans iterations, but the Camp became an annual protest that shone a light on anti-trans policies and trans rights issues.

LAHR and the Lansing Lesbian/Gay Hotline records

The Lansing Association for Human Rights was founded in 1979 to provide a safe social space for the GLBT community.

LAHR started the Lansing Area Lesbian/Gay Hotline in 1981 as an information and crisis line for central and lower Michigan.  The Lansing Area Lesbian/Gay Hotline records consists of internal communications, brochures, and correspondence produced by volunteers of the hotline, as well as reference materials used by volunteers of the hotline, such as local and regional lesbian and gay support group newsletters, flyers for events, announcements, and newspaper clippings.

Larry Tate papers

The Larry Tate papers contain clippings on MSU student activism, The Paper, Tate family photographs, published writings, personal journals from Tate's time in San Francisco, and eulogies by Tate's friends.

Larry Tate (1945-2008) earned a B.A. in English from Michigan State University, where he was co-founder and assistant editor for the weekly student publication, The Paper, a publication critical of MSU President John A. Hannah and University Secretary Jack Breslin's administration in the late 1960s-70s.

Tate was involved in the Gay Men's Collective of the Berkeley Free Clinic and San Francisco's HIV/AIDs hotline service, Project Inform, from 1989-1993. He later moved to Washington D.C. to work at the National HIV/AIDS Prevention Program at the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

Lesbian Connection Collection of Lesbian Publications

The Lesbian Connection Collection of Lesbian Publications contains publications that were sent to the Lesbian Connection. With the Lesbian Connection acting as a clearinghouse for information on Lesbian resources, social issues, political activism, and local and national events The original donation of nearly 10 boxes of publications was sorted and integrated into Special Collections' cataloged serials. This collection holds many of the remaining miscellaneous publications

Lesbian Connection collection

The Lesbian Connection collection consists of publications sent to Lesbian Connection magazine. With the Lesbian Connection acting as a clearinghouse for information on lesbian resources, social issues, political activism, and local and national events, the Lesbian Connection was sent or subscribed to many publications such as these. The original donation of nearly 10 boxes of publications was sorted and integrated into Special Collections' cataloged serials. This collection holds many of the remaining miscellaneous publications.

Lev Raphael papers

The Lev Raphael papers include manuscripts, research materials, book reviews, childhood and early life writings, articles, academic papers, awards, personal and professional correspondence, as well as recordings of interviews.

Lev Raphael received a Ph.D. in American Studies from MSU. A prolific author in several genres, Raphael won a Lambda Literary Award in 1991 for Dancing on Tisha B'av.

LGBT Activists and Their Lives oral history project

The LGBT Activists and Their Lives oral history project was conducted for a course in the Women Studies department at Eastern Michigan University during the Spring semester of 2004. The project was conducted by students from Eastern Michigan University under the supervision of Dr. Margot I. Duley. The collection includes video interviews and transcripts conducted by students from Eastern Michigan University under the supervision of Dr. Margot I. Duley.

Maida Tilchen papers

The Maida Tilchen papers consist of correspondence, unpublished essays, journal entries, published articles, concert ephemera, interviews with musicians, as well as recordings of women’s music and other performances.

Maida Tilchen helped produce women's music concerts in Bloomington Indiana from 1975-1980. She co-wrote the first article about lesbian pulps by “second wave” lesbians, published in Margins Magazine in 1975. During the 1970s-1980s, Tilchen published articles and reviews in a variety of feminist and LGBT books and publications, including Body Politic and Gay Community News.

Mark Ritzenhein Gay Picture collection

The Mark Ritzenhein Gay Picture collection includes five boxes of postcards, greeting cards, calendars, advertising catalogs etc. featuring images of men, many in erotic poses or situations.

Marilyn Frye Collection of Feminist, Gay, and Lesbian Material

The Marilyn Frye Collection of Feminist, Gay, and Lesbian Material consists of newsletters and other material relating to women's issues.

Marilyn Frye is an American philosopher and radical feminist theorist. Frye joined the Department of Philosophy at Michigan State in 1974, where she remained until her retirement.

Michigan Womyn's Music Festival records

The Michigan Womyn's Music Festival records were donated in 2015 by festival producer Lisa Vogel. The records contain crew guides, handbooks, maps, banners, memorabilia, programs, posters, brochures, meeting minutes, correspondence, press clippings, and inventories.

The Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival began in 1976 as a women-only event in the spirit of the second wave feminist movement. The festival evolved into an annual international music festival promoted as a space for womyn by womyn.

Michigan Writers Symposium Archive

The Michigan Writers Symposium Archive documents an annual literary event held by the MSU Libraries from 1992 to 1998, except in 1996.

The 1994 event was "A Tribute to Isabel Miller." Isabel Miller was the pseudonym for Alma Routsong, a Michigan native whose lesbian fiction was honored with the American Library Association's first Stonewall Book Award.

Four other LGBTQ authors with connections to Michigan and the Great Lakes region took part in the event: Anita Skeen, Lev Raphael, Barbara Grier, and Katherine V. Forrest.

The event was also recorded for MSU's Vincent Voice Library and can be heard online:  Part 1 & Part 2

Penny Gardner papers

The Penny Gardner papers contain correspondence, photographs, clippings, pamphlets, t-shirts, and other ephemera relating to Gardner's activism on behalf of the Lesbian/LGBTQ+ community, including records documenting her participation in the 1991 Ride for Reproductive Freedom, her leadership within the Council on Aging, and other organizations.

Queer Politics collection

The Queer Politics Collection consists mostly of ephemera from the 1970s-early 2000s, and as such represents the grassroots movement against lesbian and gay oppression, specifically in the job market and political realms. The AIDS epidemic, Stonewall Rebellion, and the feminist movement within the larger movements were other important issues of the day, along with the Coors Beer Boycott and the Briggs Initiative.

San Francisco Pride 2015 Ephemera collection

The San Francisco Pride 2015 Ephemera collection includes more than 225 items of ephemera, including brochures, stickers, postcards, pinback buttons, business cards, and realia such as a condom and a luggage tags. They represent a wide range of businesses, medical practices, nonprofit organizations, social service agencies, religious organizations, and other entities with connections to the LGBTQ community in San Francisco.

Stephen O. Murray papers

The Stephen O. Murray papers consist of approximately 36 linear feet of material dating from 1950 to 2019. The collection includes personal and professional material, correspondence, scrapbooks, published and unpublished manuscripts, drafts of published reviews and articles, research materials, materials by other authors, personal photographs, and ephemera.

Stephen O. Murray graduated from the James Madison College at the Michigan State University in 1972, with a double major in Social Psychology and Justice, Morality, and Constitutional Democracy. He earned an M.A. degree in Sociology from the University of Arizona (1975), and a Ph.D. in Sociology from the University of Toronto (1980). Dr. Murray's research interests included linguistics, sociology, anthropology, and comparative studies in a variety of topics, such as sexual and gender diversity. He was a founding member of the Sociologists' Gay Caucus (now Sociologists' LGBTQ Caucus), and was involved in the formation of the Anthropological Research Group on Homosexuality of the American Anthropological Association (renamed Society of Lesbian & Gay Anthropologists; and later Association for Queer Anthropology).

Steve Huyser Collection on LGBT Choirs and Other Materials

The Steve Huyser Collection on LGBT Choirs contains materials relating to Huyser's extensive work with LGBT Choruses. Formats include programs, brochures, fliers, newspaper clippings, magazines, CDs, Blue Ray DVDs, and posters relating to the Heartland Gay Men’s Chorus, The Greater Lansing Gay Men’s Chorus, and other LGBT choruses from throughout the United States.

The Huyser collection also contains ephemera and artifacts relating to gay motorcyclist clubs, the East Lansing crisis hotline, and the VaxGen study for vaccinations of people infected with HIV/AIDS.

Terri L. Jewell papers

The Terri L. Jewell's personal papers consist of manuscripts of poetry, manuscripts of anthology projects, notebooks, reviews, interviews, research material, photographs, correspondence, obituary, and memorial program.

Terri L. Jewell (1954-1995) was an African American, lesbian-feminist author and activist. She was born in Louisville and lived in Lansing as an adult. She was the editor of The Black Woman's Gumbo Ya-Ya: Quotations by Black Women (Freedom, CA: Crossing Press, 1993) and published poetry and essays in dozens of publications.

Waynesart Sculpture collection

The Waynesart Sculpture collection includes four pieces by Wayne Hampton, believed to be the first and only sculptor in the U.S. who created art for the gay community. The pieces are table-top size.

Wearing Gay History collection

The Wearing Gay History collection consist of T-shirts used for events dating approximately from 1972 to 2019, research conducted by students in relation to the T-shirts, correspondence and interviews with activists who donated T-shirts, as well as publications related to the project.

Michigan State University