Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

LGBTQ+ Resources in Special Collections: LGBTQ+ communities

LGBTQ People of Color

We have many newsletters and publications by and about LGBTQ people of color. Construct a keyword search, such as asian american and bisexuals:

african american

 

 

 

and

bisexuals
asian american gay men
hispanic american gays
indians of north america lesbians
minorities transgender people
color or colour transsexuals

Lesbian publications

Early lesbian publications in our collection include:

The Ladder. New York: Arno Press, [1961-1976].

Ain't I a woman? Iowa City: Publications Collective, Iowa City WLF, 1970-1973.

Sisters. San Francisco: Daughters of Bilitis, San Francisco Chapter, 1971-1975.

The Furies. Washington, D.C.: Furies Collective, 1972-1973.

Amazon Quarterly. Oakland: Amazon Press,1973-1974.

Lesbian connection. East Lansing: Ambitious Amazons, 1974-

So's your old lady. Minneapolis: Lesbian Resource Center, 1975-1977.

Bisexual identity

Periodicals in our collection include:

Anything that Moves: Beyond the Myths of Bisexuality. San Francisco: Bay Area Bisexual Network. 1991-2001.

BiFocus. Philadelphia: BiFocus, 1991-1994.

Bi women: the newsletter of the Boston Bisexual Women's Network. Cambridge: BBWN, 1992-1994.

North Bi Northwest. Seattle: Seattle Bisexual Women's Network, 1994.

Bi all means! Milwaukee: Bi Definition, 1999.

For a broader search, use the subject headings: Bisexuals or Bisexuality.

Transgender periodicals

Early titles in our collection include:

Transvestia. Los Angeles: Chevalier Publications, 1962-1979.

Vanguard. San Francisco: Vanguard Publications, Inc., 1966-1967.

Erickson Educational Foundation newsletter. Baton Rouge: Erickson Educational Foundation, 1972.

FTM. San Francisco: [publisher not identified], 1987-1994.

The Tri-Esse Femme Mirror: The Official Publication of the Society for the Second Self, Inc. Tulare: the society, 1989 to 2001.

Tapestry Journal. Waltham, MA: IFGE. MSU has issues from 1991-1995. Continued by Transgender Tapestry.

TransSisters : the journal of transsexual feminism. Kansas City: Skyclad Publishing Co., 1993-1995.

The Transsexual Voice. Atlanta: P. Smith, 1994.

AEGIS news. Decatur: American Educational Gender Information Service, 1995.

Transgender Tapestry. Waltham: IFGE, 1995-2008. Continues with Tapestry Journal.

See the resource guide Transgender Voices in Special Collections for a more thorough exploration of our holdings.

Trans, Non-binary, Genderqueer, and Gender nonconforming

For works that include trans, non-binary, genderqueer, and gender nonconforming identity, use the following subject headings:

Queer Zines

We have a growing collection of zines, a form of independent media.

Search for LGBTQ zines with a keyword search.

Two-Spirit people

For publications about Two-spirit (2S) people, use the subject heading two-spirit people.

Asexuality

Use the subject headings Asexuality or Asexual people for better search results.

Lansing

Greater Lansing based publications and organizations:

Sunflower, Lansing: [publisher not identified], 1972.

Lesbian connection. East Lansing: Ambitious Amazons, 1974-

Lesbian center newsletter. Lansing: Let's Be An Apple Pie, 1975-1977.

Helen Diner Memorial Women's Center. East Lansing: Amazing Amazons, 1977-1996.

LAHR newsletter. Lansing: Lansing Association for Human Rights, 1979-1990.

Lansing Area Lesbian/Gay Hotline records. Lansing: Lansing Association for Human Rights, 1981-1997.

Lesbian alliance. East Lansing: Greater Lansing Women's Association, 1986-1992.

Parents FLAG/Lansing newsletter. Okemos : Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, 1988-1990.

Letters from Harriet. East Lansing: Mad River Press, 1994-1995.

Bar culture

Titles in our collection include:

QQ magazine. New York: Queen's Quarterly Pub. Co., 1971-1979.

Rapping Paper. Toledo: Paramount Publications, 1975-1977.

Metra Magazine. Ferndale: Metra, Inc., 1980-2018.

Cruise Weekly. Detroit: T. Rome Enterprises, 1981.

Bob Damron's Address Book. San Francisco: Bob Damron Enterprises, 1988-1992.

Betty & Pansy's severe queer review of New York City. San Francisco: Bedpan Productions, 1994.

Bar Dykes. Brooklyn: Pegacorn Press, 2019.

You can also search by subject heading.

Leather lifestyle

You can search leather lifestyle as a Library of Congress subject heading!

Titles in our collection include:

Drummer. San Francisco: Desmodus, Inc., 1975-1998.

The Leather journal. West Hollywood: Cedar Pub. Corp., 1987-2015.

Leather/Levi Lexicon. San Francisco:  Leather/Levi Lexicon, 1989-1991.

Leather pride! Seattle: Leather Pride Project, 1996-2000.

Leathermen speak out : an anthology on leathersex. San Francisco: Leyland Publications, 1991.

Leathermen speak out volume 2 : an anthology on leathersex. San Francisco: Leyland Publications, 1993.

Alison Kaine mystery series. Norwich: New Victoria Publishers, 1993-1995.

S & M : studies in dominance & submission. Amherst: Prometheus Book, 1995.

Manifest reader. Forestville: Alternate Pub, 1995.

Bound together : leather, sex, archives, and contemporary art. Manchester : Manchester University Press, 2020.

Making contact

Bachelor. Philadelphia: The Bachelor Inc. MSU has issues from 1937.

Advocate Classifieds. Los Angeles: Liberation Publications. MSU has issues from the mid-1990s.

Unzipped. Los Angeles: SLI. Continues Advocate Classifieds. MSU has issues from 1997 to 2002.

Gay Truckers Classifieds. Houston: LeDucq. MSU has issues from 2004-2007.

Lesbian Connection. Lansing, MI: Ambitious Amazons. MSU has issues from 1974-present.

Drummer. San Francisco: Desmodus Inc. MSU has issues from 1975-1998.

Tom of Finland

You can find examples of the work of "Tom of Finland" (Touko Laadsonen), a noted illustrator of homoerotica.

Search for Tom of Finland as a subject to find exhibit catalogs, histories and collections of his work.
Search Tom of Finland as an author to find books and magazines where his work originally appeared.

Michigan State University