Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

LGBTQ+ Resources in Special Collections: Online primary sources

Resources for MSU-affiliated users only

Open Access Resources

ACT UP Oral History Project
Collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.

Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
Collection of interviews and broadcasts of people who presently or at one time identified as same-sex and same-gender attracted women.

Country Queers
Oral history project documenting the experiences of rural and small town LGBTQIA folks in the US.

Digital Transgender Archive
Online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

GLBT Historical Society - Online Collections
Selected digitized material, includes oral history projects, broadcast recordings, video recordings of recreational events, organizational records and personal papers.

Lesbian Herstory Archives - Audio/Visual Collections
Oral histories and other recordings about lesbians and their communities.

LGBTQ Religious Archives Network
Online hub for archives preserving LGBT religious history. Includes over 40 oral histories of LGBTQ+ religious leaders.

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
Selected digitized material, includes periodicals, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.

Out of the Closet: A Collection of Early LGBTQ+ Fiction
Collection of audio recordings of 22 LGBTQ+ stories published between 1841-1923.

Queer Appalachia Oral History Project
Oral history project about stories of gay, lesbian, transgender, bisexual, and questioning individuals who grew up, and/or currently live in the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) designated Central Appalachian Region, especially Eastern Kentucky.

Queer Indonesia Archive
Community focused digital archiving project documenting queer life in Indonesia. Includes community publications, photographs, periodicals, posters, and oral histories.

Still Bisexual
Bisexual education and health advocacy organization, includes over 100 short video interviews.

Speaking Out: LGBT Veterans
Oral history project of LGBT veterans who served from the WWII era to the present.

Stone Butch Blues
20th anniversary author’s edition of Stone Butch Blues available for free via the author's website.

Queer Zine Archive
Searchable database providing access to the historical canon of queer zines.

Michigan State University