LibGuides: Paris Between the Wars: Bodies of Primary Sources

Bodies of Primary Sources

American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) This link opens in a new window
Corpus consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Recently added is a Provençal database that includes 38 texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. The basis for the database are items from the Tresor de la Langue Francaise, a dictionary of the French language in Reference, PC 2625 .I4 v. 1-16. The database is being developed as a joint project of CNRS, the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in France and the University of Chicago.

Gallica

Gallica is a free online database of some 70,000 French texts and 80,000 images created by the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, chosen from its own and other French collections. Contains literature, history, science, philosophy, law, economic and political science materials. Some 1250 of the works can be word searched within the texts.

Baedecker's Handbooks for Travellers Cataloged Separately.

266 editions published before WWII. Baedeker’s Handbooks for Travellers, a Bibliography of English Editions Published Prior to World War II Remote Storage Z 6016 .T7 G73 1975 c. 2 contains a list of titles in the set. Click on the "Get This" button in Books and Media to have the bibliography brought from Remote Storage to check out at Circulation. Look up the individual titles in the bibliography in Books and Media, choosing country and date of publication. Useful for studying travel to certain places in the past, as well as for cultural information contained.

Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
This definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history contains material published from 1543-1945 in the U.S., U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and Continental Europe. It includes 265 periodical titles and over 4,400 monographs and pamphlets. Most materials are in English, although there is also a significant number of items in German and French. A simple keyword search thus: "paris and (woman or women or femme or femmes), limited to materials in the English language, and to those published 1918-1939, has many results. So, this should be useful for researching topics re women in Paris between the wars.

Documents Diplomatiques Francais, 1932-1939 Main DC 396 .A45

First and second series deal with the origins of World War II.

Documents on British Policy Overseas This link opens in a new window
Documents on British Policy Overseas offers researchers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of the major events of the twentieth century. Users can access contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond.Upon completion this resource will contain 56,000 U.K. government documents relating to Britain's international relations, including foreign policy instructions, letters and memos, business reports, and more. These primary source materials have been selected by the official historians of Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, and, in many cases, have been declassified at their request for inclusion in this series.This resource offers single-point online access from three print series: British Documents on the Origins of War, 1898-1914 (Main stacks D 505 .G68 v. 1-11 contains material on the tensions that led to WWI), Documents on British Foreign Policy, 1919-1939 (Main stacks DA 566.7 .A18 Ser 1-3 v. 1-65 interwar period with items on Italo-Ethiopian War and German affairs), and Documents on British Policy Overseas (Main stacks DA 588 .D63 1984 Series 1-4 17 volumes plus cds and microfiche with items on atomic energy, the Korean conflict and the Cold War).Hathi Trust offers limited view (search only) for the second print set listed above, covering 1919-1939.

How They Lived: an Annotated Tour of Daily Life Through History in Primary Sources

International Herald Tribune Archive, 1887-2013

Complete archive of this newspaper from its origins as the European edition of the New York Herald and later the European edition of New York Herald Tribune. Archive ends with the last issue of the paper before it relaunched as the International New York Times.

Interwar Culture This link opens in a new window
1920s Interwar Culture Module I contains popular periodicals, and some literary writings, from the 1920s in Britain and the United States about arts, culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, current world affairs, and social and welfare issues. The materials come from the British Library, Liverpool John Moores University, Future PLC (a British media company), the Newberry Library (Chicago), and New York Public Library.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Paris Between the Wars: Bodies of Primary Sources

Bodies of Primary Sources