Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Relations: Food Security

Covers international law, institutions, theory of international relations, foreign policy, international political economy, environment, human rights, food security, national security.

Definitions

FAO - "Food security exists when all people, at all times, have physical and economic access to sufficient safe and nutritious food that meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life."
- 1996 World Food Summit

USDA - "access by all people at all times to enough nutritious food for an active, healthy life."

Subject terms

Famines

Food Relief

Food Security

Food Supply

Hunger

Background Sources

Cambridge World History of Food (2 vols) - TX 353 .C255 200 (Reference)

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (3 vols.) - GT 2850 .E53 2003 (Reference)  Also available online.

Food Security Statistics (FAO)

State of Food Insecurity in the World - FAO report

World Food Situation (FAO)

Useful Websites

Afrique Verte - focus on food security Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger in West Africa

Bread for the World - faith based global hunger organization

Community Food Security Coalition - Mostly domestic activity around food security

Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) - network of global research on agriculture

Development Directory - listing of 70,000 development organization around the world

Eldis Food Security Resources - network of 7,500 development organizations

Famine Early Warning Systems Network - US AID site that monitors food security around the globe

Food Environment Atlas - good entry into U.S. food security information by locality

Food First - U.S. based organization works with grassroots around the world to tackle hunger, poverty, and ecological destruction.

International Food Policy Research Institute - Global organization fighting poverty and hunger with  emphasis on research.

International Relations and Security Network - open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe

World Food Programme - UN programme aimed at hunger elimination

Indexes to Articles

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including Working papers, Conference papers and Journal articles. Includes sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.

Agricola - National Agriculture Library database covers the worldwide study of agriculture and related fields.

CAB Abstracts

1972-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.

Political Science Complete. Provides full text for over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 1995 journals. The database also features more than 189 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Proquest databases - searches up to 59 databases covering thousands of publications with many full-text. can easily limit search to "peer-reviewed" only materials.

Michigan State University