Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the Business Library
Business Research Guides
Find helpful library resources on conducting research on companies,
industries, advertising and marketing, international marketing, private
companies, and more.
Off Campus Access
Remember, when you're off campus and want to continue your research you'll need to access these resources through the library website. You will also need to log in using your MSU NetID & password.
For more info on off campus access please click on the following link.
Having trouble accessing any of our library resources? Contact the MSU Libraries 24/7 help service:
Getting Started: Quick Links
Researching Your Topic
Links to resources that will get you started with your topic including learning some general information and facts.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Provides advertising information on companies, brands, and advertising agencies. It includes media spend for the companies and their brands and details on advertising agencies including contacts and the companies with whom they work.
Citing Your Sources
Find a number of examples of how to cite both print and electronic
sources using APA, MLA, and Chicago style, as well as many other