Agriculture Research Guide: World Food Prize

- The World Food Prize Michigan Youth Institute is a one-day event that gives high school students the opportunity to present research and recommendations on how to solve key global challenges.
- Students who are in grades 7 through 12 during the 2022-2023 school year are eligible to register by submitting a three to five page paper.

The Michigan Youth Institute is a life-changing experience coordinated by Michigan State University where students in grades 7-12 engage with local leaders and experts on critical global challenges, participate in hands-on activities, and explore exciting ways to make a difference in Michigan and around the world.

This Google Drive contains PDFs of assignments, activities, videos, etc. on the topic of Healthy or Wealthy. July 5,2019.

"Introducing World Food Prize Teacher Resources! All materials are available at no cost to educators and are designed to bring global learning concepts into your classroom, club, or community."

The Man Who Tried to Feed the World recounts the story of the man who would not only solve India’s famine problem, but would go on to lead a “Green Revolution” of worldwide agriculture programs, saving countless lives. He was awarded the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize for his work but spent the rest of his life watching his methods and achievements come under increasing fire.

Unknown. 1992. “The World Food Prize.” Special Collections, USDA National Agricultural Library.
This document describes the WFP's origins and winners up through the sixth award presented in 1992.

- The World Food Prize Michigan Youth Institute is a one-day event that gives high school students the opportunity to present research and recommendations on how to solve key global challenges.
- Online registration for youth participants and their adult teachers or mentors will begin on tbd.
- Registration deadline: March 14, 2024
- When and where: May 9, 2024, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Participants have the option of joining the World Food Prize Michigan Youth Institute in person on the campus of MSU in East Lansing or by participating from anywhere else using Zoom video/web conference technology.

SCROLL DOWN to the Geography image and click that to get to the countries.
Connect to MeL using a personal library card from your local school or public library.

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

This is your source for statistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available.

The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Infoplease is a reference and learning site, combining the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, an atlas and several almanacs loaded with facts.

The Global Information and Early Warning System on Food and Agriculture provides country analyses in the sections: GIEWS Country Briefs, Countries in Crisis Requiring External Assistance for Food, Countries with Unfavourable Prospects for Current Crops, and Domestic Price Warnings.

Global Information and Early Warning System on Food and Agriculture reports touch on various topics, such as, Crop Prospects and Food Situations, Food Market and Prices, Weather and Climate, and others.

Hundreds of collections and handbooks on all topics.

MeL(Michigan electronic Library) article databases and other resources are open to Michigan residents with a library card from your local library.

MeL(Michigan electronic Library) article databases and other resources are open to Michigan residents with a library card from your local library.

MeL(Michigan electronic Library) ebooks, audiobooks and other resources are open to Michigan residents with a library card from your local library. Overdirve and Hoopla are the two platforms; audiobooks can be downloaded in mp3 format.

The best way to get help with MeL is by contacting your local library.

DOAB is a discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.

Use the browse feature or search for a particular topic. Most WFP topics are covered.

Select the format; type in the components, and the Wizard will place them in the proper MLA bibliography format. This is for MLA 8th edition.

A guide to MLA style by Purdue University OWL. Extensive examples available.

Select the format; type in the components, and the Wizard will place them in the proper MLA bibliography format.
This is for APA 6th edition.

Basic guidance on preparing APA 7th ed. in-text and reference list citations.

Be sure to scroll down this webpage to see more MLA & APA help.

Imagine yourself in a darkened museum gallery. Gradually, four projectors illuminate a giant globe, seeming to float in front of you. You see a spectacular animation, showing geophysical, environmental, and cultural data projected on the globe. You watch our spinning planet - our tiny “blue marble" - from outer space. Then, the image instantly transforms into the rotating sphere of Mars, a history of cities on Earth, or even the interior of a biological cell. Experience Science On a Sphere for yourself!

Complete this form to access the free teacher guide, modules, and assessment tools. This curriculum is brought to you by Growing Hope Globally in partnership with the World Food Prize Foundation and was developed by the ABN Educational Consulting Group (J. Anderson, M. Bloom, and R. Newhouse) in 2017.