LibGuides: Agriculture Research Guide: USDA Resources

USDA Publications

The USDA has published many document series in its history. Most have been digitized and are accessible freely online through the NALDC and NAL's Internet Archive site (see the links below).
Series titles include:

USDA Annual Reports
USDA Agriculture Handbooks
USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins
USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
USDA Circulars
USDA Department Circulars
USDA Farmers' Bulletins
USDA Home and Garden Bulletins
USDA Miscellaneous Publications
USDA Rural Development Perspectives
USDA Plant Immigrants series
USDA Technical Bulletins
Yearbook of Agriculture

National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC)
The National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC) offer access to full-text historical documents in the agricultural and food sciences.
National Agricultural Library's Internet Archive collection.
NAL's Internet Archive collection also offers access to full-text historical documents in the agricultural and food sciences.
USDA Agricultural Marketing Service Publications
Data, Publications, Reports & Presentations, and Interactive Resources issued by the Agricultural Marketing Service.
USDA ERS Publications
Current publications of the Economic Research Service including Outlooks, Research Reports, and Amber Waves magazine articles.
USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS)
Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data.
USDA Economic Research Service Data Sets
Data sets from FATUS to SNAP to International Food Security.

USDA

Know Your Farmer, Know Your Food (KYF2)
Know Your Farmer, Know Your Food (KYF2) is a USDA-wide effort to carry out President Obama's commitment to strengthening local and regional food systems.
more...less...
A surge in consumer demand for locally-produced food is creating jobs and opportunity throughout rural America. Beginning farmers are finding an entry point into agriculture through local markets. Experienced farmers are diversifying their sales to capture added value through local branding. Small businesses are developing new packing, processing, distribution and retail opportunities. And consumers are learning more about where their food comes from and gaining access to fresh, local foods.
NAL Thesaurus
The Thesaurus and Glossary are online vocabulary tools of agricultural terms in English and Spanish and are cooperatively produced by the National Agricultural Library, USDA, and the Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture as well as other Latin American agricultural institutions belonging to the Agriculture Information and Documentation Service of the Americas (SIDALC).

USDA - Forest Service

U.S. Forest Service documents
The U.S. Forest Service is under the jurisdiction of the USDA. This link goes to the Forestry Resources Guide page on Federal Forestry Resources.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Agriculture Research Guide: USDA Resources

USDA Publications

USDA

USDA - Forest Service