LibGuides: News and Newspaper Guide: Current News

New Featured Item

The Atlantic Monthly
This is the full run of The Atlantic (1857-Present).

If the above link does not work,
1. Go to http://theatlantic.com.
2. In the top right-hand corner, click "Sign In."
3. When you get to the sign in page, scroll down to where it says "Accessing a group subscription?"
4. Click "Sign in through your institution."
5. Type in and select "Michigan State University." Click "Continue."
6. You will then be directed to the MSU login page. Sign in with your MSU email address and password.

Major Daily Newspapers

Detroit Free Press
Requires free registration. Use your msu.edu email address and the password of your choice.
Financial Times
Requires free registration - use your msu.edu email address and a password of your choice
Lansing State Journal
Requires free registration, use your msu.edu email address and the password of your choice
New York Times
Requires free registration - use your msu.edu email address and a password of your choice.
USA Today
Requires free registration - use your msu.edu email address and the password of your choice.
Wall Street Journal
Requires free registration - use your msu.edu email address and a password of your choice.

Current Newspaper Databases

Access World News, Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection includes local, regional, national and international news sources. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from leading business newspapers, magazines, and wire services worldwide, including The Wall Street Journal.
**Access is allowed for only 6 users at a time.**
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 1,000 newspapers from around the country and the world. Includes the New York Times (1985-current).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
New interface for LexisNexis Academic. A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide.
To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from the LexisNexis Academic database, use Text Assembler.
Proquest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Previously known as Proquest Gannett Newstand. Now includes non-Gannett US papers. Exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal, plus newswires, blogs, and news sites and regional and local U.S. papers.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Displays paper as printed; 2008/9-current.
Includes: Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, Washington Post - Final Edition

Alternatives to Mainstream Media

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage complements the reporting in the mainstream press. Includes biographical or personal profiles. 1970-present
Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the database was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Independent Voices from Reveal Digital This link opens in a new window
Project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Need Help? Contact me

Kathleen Weessies

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

Geosciences Librarian; Social Sciences Coordinator; Head, Map Library
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive E240

517-884-0849

Subjects: Geography, Geology

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

News and Newspaper Guide

New Featured Item

Major Daily Newspapers

Current Newspaper Databases

Alternatives to Mainstream Media

Need Help? Contact me