LibGuides: News and Newspaper Guide: Historical Newspaper Databases (International)

International Historical Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Chinese Newspaper Collection, Globe & Mail [Toronto], Guardian & Observer, Irish Times, Jerusalem Post, Korea Times, Montreal Gazette, South China Morning Post, Times of India, Toronto Star
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.

Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world.
SA Media This link opens in a new window
Contains records from South African newspapers and periodicals from 1978 onwards.
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers, 1805-1925 This link opens in a new window
Includes Series I (1805-1922) and Series II (1835-1925).

Hoji Shinbun This link opens in a new window
The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is open to the public and does not require registration for viewing most of the titles. Some content is currently restricted to Stanford University users due to copyright agreement with the publishers.
Japan Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Japan Times Archives includes articles on about 600,000 pages across 124 years, ranging from the inaugural issue in March 1897 to December 2021.

Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
1911-1949; The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.

People's Daily - Renmin Ribao (1946 - Present) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1832 - 1953

Shen Bao Digital Archive
The full run (1872–1949) of the Shanghai-based newspaper Shen Bao

Ta Kung Pao Full Text Database 1902-1949 This link opens in a new window
Ta Kung Pao was first published on June 17, 1902 in Tianjin. It has various editions in different cities (Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong, and Guilin). In its prime time, it was simultaneously published in four different places in China. In 1941, Ta Kung Pao was voted the best foreign newspaper of the year by the Missouri School of Journalism. This database covers 1802-1949, and it is full-text searchable.
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922 This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers include Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka), Indian People (Allahabad), Kayasare hinda (Bombay), Leader (Allahabad), Madras Mail (Madras), Pioneer (Allahabad), and Tribune (Lahore).
This legacy interface will be retired as of June 30, 22.
Go to https://ezproxy.msu.edu/login?url=https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/welcome?p=WHNPASIA1 for the new interface.

Gale Primary Sources: Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes British Library Newspapers, Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004, Financial Times Historical Archive, International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013, Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957, The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, The Independent Historical Archive, The Sunday Times Historical Archive, The Telegraph Historical Archive, The Times Digital Archive, The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

Izvestia Digital Archive (1917-2010)
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.
Le Monde
A French newspaper providing thoughtful interpretation of current events, the archive covers years 1944-2000.
Pravda Digital Archive (1912-2009)
Official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.
Pravda Archive (1959-1996)
Articles published by Pravda during the Cold War and the years immediately following, from 1959 to 1996, collected and translated into English by the CIA.

Caribbean Newspapers, Series I, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
From the American Antiquarian Society enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands published in the 18th and 19th centuries. This is the largest online collection of newspapers published in this region.
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable collection of Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Issues from some 80 titles are now included in the expanded collection.

Al-Ahram Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram is one of the most prominent Arabic-language newspapers from the Middle East and North Africa, including its legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily. Al-Ahram Digital Newspaper Archive contains full-image/full-text content, with full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text, including text within advertisements. Contains all obtainable published issues from 1875 to 2018, with an additional year’s worth of content added on an annual basis.
Associated Press: Middle Eastern Bureaus Collection This link opens in a new window
With stories stemming from Jerusalem, Ankara, Beirut, and their surrounding areas, these records include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy – the versions that AP sent on to its member newspapers, which members were then free to alter. Among the most covered topics are military operations, civil and global wars, diplomacy, refugees, cultural clashes, and terrorism.

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
1902-1972; publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.