LibGuides: British Isles Online Primary Resources: Newspapers

Newspapers

Our Online U.K. and Irish Newspapers library guide is more up to date than this page.

This list below is arranged roughly by our start dates.

1758-1953 Link goes to a version in Hathi Trust collection from our online catalog. Not a newspaper per se but an annual publication about events around the world that were of concern/interest to the British.

1791-1900 Observer (London)

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library.
Includes: British Journal, Daily Courant, Daily Gazetteer, Daily Post, Evening Post, General Advertiser, Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle, London Chronicle, London Evening Post, London Gazette, Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser, St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post, Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer and hundreds of others
British Newspapers 1600-1950 This link opens in a new window
1600-1950 Indexing and links to full texts of newspaper articles in London and English provincial newspapers. Also covers a few Continental newspapers. We have parts 1-3.
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
1785-2019 Complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.For online access to the London Times 2007 onwards, check the online catalog using a periodical title search for Times. It is available via a number of indexing providers: Infotrac and others. It is also available on microfilm in the PRR/Microforms unit.
Palmer's Index to the Times of London This link opens in a new window
1790-1905 Index to articles appearing in the Times of London 1790-1905. Paper index in Consulting Reference AI 21 .T5 covers 1886-1941.
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1800-1900 Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers provides researchers with the most comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain available. 1800-1900 This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world.Multidisciplinary in scope, 19th Century British Library Newspapers includes papers from both London and provincial towns and cities. We have Parts I and II.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
1822-2016 Sunday edition of the London Times from 1822-2016, one of the world's most important English language newspapers. For the daily edition see Times Digital Archive 1785-2019, above.

Manchester Guardian, 1821-1825; 1828-1900; 1901-1959;

Telegraph Historical Archive

1855-2016 One of the world's highest circulating newspapers in the English language. Includes also the Sunday issues from 1961-2000. The BBC describes it as "the newspaper of the establishment." We also offer this newspaper post 2000, here.

Irish Times

1859-2012 From Dublin, Ireland

International Herald Tribune Archive

1887-2013 Complete archive from its inception as the European edition of the New York Herald and later the European edition of the New York Herald Tribune. Ends with last issue of International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as International New York Times.

Financial Times

1888-2021 The world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper.

Daily Mail Historical Archive

1896-2004 Progressive newspaper for ordinary, busy people. For emphasis and scope see the essay about its history in the "Essays" section of the web site.

1901-2003 Observer (London)

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window
1902-2012 The Times Literary Supplement is the weekly book review section of the Times (London) newspaper. In function it is similar to, but more extensive than, the New York Times Book Review. It is a major source for scholarly book reviews in humanities, social sciences, and the arts. MSU Libraries subscribes to the current weekly edition also; check the online catalog. The reviews in TLS are indexed in Book Review Index Online.
Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980 This link opens in a new window
1906-1980 An index to the Times of London covering all disciplines and events for 75 years in the 20th century. Not always reliable. If you believe your search results do not reflect all the information you believe must be there, use the book indexes to the London Times, Main Library, AI 21 .T46. M.S.U. Libraries has microfilm of this newspaper for 1906 to the present in PRR/Microforms, 2nd floor, west wing.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
During World War Two and its aftermath, journalism played a vital role in keeping servicemen informed and connected. This collection consists of newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects. Includes Modules I and II.

Independent (London)

1986-2016 Centrist politically. Economic stance is liberal, pro-market. Current issues online, here.

Scotsman

1993-2016 from various aggregators, a subscription resource for us, not owned content.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
last 60 days This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

British Isles Online Primary Resources: Newspapers

Newspapers