Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Health Data & Statistics Research Guide: Sexual and Reproductive Health

Sexual and Reproductive Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Healthy Youth: Sexual Risk Behaviors
This page from the CDC includes quick facts and links to relevant resources, such as the Youth Behavioral Risk Fact Surveillance Survey.

National Survey of Family Growth
This CDC survey gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.  Includes relevant reports and a key statistics section for quick facts and tables about sexual health, orientation, and related topics.

National Vital Statistics System - Birth Data
Publications, reports and dataset information from the federal collection program.
Please go to the Vital Statistics tab of this research guide for additional resources.

Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS): Collects state-specific data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Selected Maternal Child Health indicators (2012-2017) can be accessed through the PRAMS website, and researchers can also submit research proposals to access the PRAMS Analytic Research File through the CDC. 

Reproductive Health - Data and Statistics
This page provides a comprehensive list of links to relevant CDC resources such as the Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health and the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System.  Topical links are available to issues such as abortion, maternal health, tobacoo use, and more.

Sexually Transmitted Diseases
Faststats from the NCHS includes links to relevant tables and related resources.

Sexually Transmitted Diseases - Data and Statistics
This page from the CDC's Division of Sexually Transmitted Diseases Prevention includes an annual surveillance report and related resources.

Census Bureau

Fertility of American Women
Reports from the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, and the American Community Survey.

Guttmacher Institute

A non-profit research and policy organization that focuses on US and global sexual and reproductive health. 

Guttmacher Data Center

Here you can use Guttmacher's data to build custom graphs and maps sorted by world region, country, US State or US county.

Guttmacher Population Center

Here you can access public use datasets created by Guttmacher. 

Kaiser Family Foundation
A non-profit, private foundation focusing on U.S. health care issues.

Fact Sheet: Sexual Health of Adolescents and Young Adults in the United States

Kinsey Institute
Research in sex, gender, and reproduction.

FAQs - Facts and Statistics
A collection of statistical facts with citations and links to reports.

Staff Publications
Citations for Kinsey researchers' research.

March of Dimes

Peristats
Provides graphs, maps, quick stats and state summaries of maternal and infant health indicators.  Some county and city data available. Most recent available data is 2016.

National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy
Includes national and state-level data.  Information on pregnancy, births, sexual activity, costs, public opinion polls, and the DRC Report on Unplanned Pregnancy.

Michigan State University