Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Medical Expenditures Panel Survey
A nationally representative survey on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers. MEPS consist of four surveys and began in 1996.
HCUPnet: Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
HCUPnet is an online interactive system that analyzes health statistics and information on hospital stays at the national, regional, and state level. Data is available from 1997 and trend information is available since 1993.
Census Bureau
Health Insurance
This page provides an overview of Census programs up until June 30, 2024 that include data on health insurance with links to reports and data. These programs included the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, Small Area Health Insurance Estimates, and Analysis of Survey Underestimation of Medicaid Enrollment.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Health Interview Survey
The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian noninstitutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). Includes questions about access to care and insurance.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
CMS Program Statistics
CMS Program Statistics contains data from 2013 to most recently available on Medicare enrollment and Medicaid recipients, expenditures, and utilization. Replaces the Medicare & Medicaid Statistical Supplement (2001-2013). Similar data for 2002-2003 and 2006-2011 can be found in the CMS Data Compendium archive.
Offers information on Program Use and Payments, Providers and Initiatives, and Beneficiary Characteristics. Includes look-up tools for inpatient hospitals, Medicare Part D, physicians and practitioners, Medicare revalidation, and provider opt-out affidavits.
Medical Physicians and other Practitioners. "A series of datasets that provide information on services and procedures provided to Original Medicare (fee-for-service) Part B (Medical Insurance) beneficiaries by physicians and other healthcare professionals. These datasets contain information on use, payments, and submitted charges organized by National Provider Identifier (NPI), Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) code, and geography. "
Medicare Enrollment Reports
Includes county data on hospital insurance, supplemental medical insurance, unduplicated count of persons enrolled in either or both parts of the program and persons enrolled in both parts of the program. Covers 2013 to most recently available data.
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
This page compiles multiple data collection and dissemination programs from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Look for the Statistics, Trends & Reports heading to view a complete list of publications.
Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice
The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The Atlas project focuses on how medical resources are distributed and used in the U.S.
Print titles: The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care 1999, The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care 1996.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center
The State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is a program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and a part of the Health Policy and Management Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota.
State Profiles: More extensive analyses of health care on the state level
State Health Compare: Can create customized charts/graphs on different health-related variables and compare them across states.
Health Care Coverage and Access to Care
A list of SHADAC projects on these subjects. Some links or articles lead to interactive datasets.
Urban Institute
Health and Health Care
This independent research institute has compiled reports and statistical tables (mostly from government sources) on a number of health related topics, including insurance coverage.