GENERAL
Simon Díaz. José. Bibliografía de la literatura hispánica. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Instituto "Miguel de Cervantes" de Filología Hispánica, 1950- . 16 vols.
[Z2691 .S5] Also, see vols. 1-3, 1960 ed. [Z2691 .S5 1960]
The indispensable work, Medieval through Golden Age. Chronological arrangement by period, and by author within periods. Volume 2 includes a bibliography of bibliographies, a bio-bibliography, and periodical indexes.
Simon Díaz. José. Manual de bibliografía de la literatura española. 3rd ed. Madrid: Gredos, 1980 .
[Z2693.3 .S5 1980]
TWENTIETH CENTURY
Zubatsky, David S. Spanish, Catalan, and Galician Literary Authors of the Twentieth Century: an Annotated Guide to Bibliographies. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1992. [PC3911 .A1 Z83 1992 Main Reference]
NINETEENTH CENTURY
Ferreras, Juan Ignacio. Catálogo de novelas y novelistas españoles del Siglo XIX. Madrid: Ediciones Cátedra. 1979.
[Z2694 .F4 F47]
Includes novels written between 1800 and 1900 in Spain and Spanish colonies. Biographical sketches followed by a bibliography of author's works. Includes anonymous works as well.
Zubatsky, David S. Spanish, Catalan, and Galician Literary Authors of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries: an Annotated Guide to Bibliographies. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
[Z2691 .A1 Z8 1995]
EIGHTEENTH CENTURY
Aguilar Piñal, Francisco. Bibliografía de autores españoles del siglo XVIII. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Instituto "Miguel de Cervantes" de Filología Hispánica, 1981- . 8 vols.
[Z2681 .A39]
A comprehensive work of Eighteenth Century Spanish literature.
Aguilar Piñal, Francisco. Bibliografía fundamental de la literatura española: siglo XVIII. Madrid: Sociedad General Española de Librería, 1976.
[PQ6069 .A34]
Zubatsky, David S. For 18th century author bibliographies, see Zubatsky entry under 19th century, above.
SIXTEENTH AND SEVENTEENTH CENTURIES
Eisenberg, Daniel. Castilian Romances of Chivalry in the Sixteenth Century: A Bibliography. London: Grant & Cutler, 1979.
[Z2694 .F4 E57]
Moseley, William W., Glenray Emmons, and Marilyn Emmones. Spanish Literature 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish and English, 1925-1980. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984.
[Z2692 .M67 1984]
Excellent resource- lists over 11,000 studies. A classified bibliography of general works is followed by bibliographies of individual authors.
Ricapito, Joseph V. Bibliografía razonada y anotada de las obras maestras de la picaresca española. Madrid: Editorial Castalia, 1980.
[PQ6417 .P5 R48]
Rodríguez Moñino, Antonio R. Manual bibliográfico de cancioneros y romanceros. Madrid, Editorial Castalia, 1973- (4 vols.)
[Z2694 .B2 R6]
A bibliography of Spanish ballads. Contents: 1-2. Impresos durante el siglo XVI.--3-4. Impresos durante el siglo XVII.
MEDIEVAL
Bibliography of Old Spanish Texts: Literary Texts. Comp., Anthony Cárdenas et al. 2nd ed. Bibliographic Series 1. Madison: Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies, 1977.
[folio Z2682 .C177 1977 Oversize Collection]
Catalogue of Books Printed in Spain and of Spanish books Printed Elsewhere in Europe before 1601 now in the British Museum. 2nd ed. London: British Library, 1989.
[Z2682 .B86 1989]
Previously published as: Short-title Catalogue of Books Printed in Spain and of Spanish books Printed Elsewhere in Europe before 1601 now in the British Museum. London, British Museum, 1921. [Z2682 .B86]
Ask Mary Jo Zeter, Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer