LibGuides: HNF 820: Advanced Biochemical Nutrition: Recommended Resources

Books

A selection of key references and electronic textbook platforms for finding nutrition information.

AccessMedicine
Access Medicine contains leading medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, plus videos, self-assessment, algorithms, case files, and more.
ClinicalKey
Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one resource, providing access to many textbooks, journals, videos, and images.

CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition by Berdanier, C. D.
2011, 3rd edition
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition by Bender, D. A.
2014, 4th edition
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by Caballero, B.
2013, 3rd edition
Handbook of Nutrition and Food by Berdanier, C. D. et al.
2014, 3rd edition
One simultaneous user

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Search or browse by disorders or symptoms.

Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease
A comprehensive text and reference source for topics in basic and clinical nutrition.
Nutrition Care Manual by Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

Databases

Below is a selection of databases that are used in human nutrition. Use these to search for journal articles related to your topic. If you need assistance with searching and using these resources please contact Andrea Kepsel, Food Science and Human Nutrition Librarian, at akepsel@msu.edu.

PubMed (Medline)
The premier resource for searching the world's scholarly and professional biomedical and health sciences literature (including human nutrition).
CAB Abstracts
Broad coverage of agriculture, including human and animal nutrition. On the Web of Science platform.
Biological Abstracts
Comprehensive database covering life sciences journal literature in the fields of Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present on the Web of Science platform.
AGRICOLA
U.S. National Agricultural Library's index to the scholarly and trade agricultural literature, including food science and human nutrition. Re-scoped to focus primarily on U.S. Department of Agriculture publications and articles/chapters authored by USDA personnel.
Web of Science
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Scopus
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.

Browsing Journal Content

BrowZine and LibKey are tools that work with the MSU Libraries resources to help you browse, access, and stay up-to-date on the scholarly literature. For more information, visit the Third Iron guide.

BrowZine
BrowZine can be used to browse, read, and stay current with scientific literature. It is available both on the web and as a mobile app. Users can create a bookshelf of favorite journals, save individual articles to collections, and be alerted when new issues of journals are published.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser plugin available for
Firefox, Chrome, and Microsoft Edge. It
works with library subscriptions and open access sources to provide quick, one-click access to the full text of journal articles.
LibKey.io
LibKey.io can be used to quickly look up the full text of an article using its DOI or PubMed ID (PMID). If available, you can select either the PDF or HTML version of the full text. You can also add “libkey.io/” in front of any DOI or PMID in your browser’s search bar to search for the full text of an article.

Dissertations

Dissertations done at most colleges and universities in North America can be located using Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global.

MSU Theses and Dissertations
This collection contains over 35,000 ETDs written at MSU dating from 1899 to the present. These are freely available without an MSU login.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.

Finding Disssertations and Theses
Guide from the MSU Libraries to help you obtain the full text of a doctoral dissertation or master's thesis.

The MSU Libraries do not normally purchase copies of dissertations from other institutions but many institutions are willing to loan copies of their dissertations. Copies of dissertations from other institutions can usually be obtained through InterLibrary Loan. Information about this service is available at the Get It @MSU section of the Main Library's home page.

Food Composition and Nutrient Analysis

Resources for examining the make-up of foods and analyzing nutrients.

Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2015-2020
Released every 5 years by the USDA/DHHS.
Interactive DRI Calculator for Healthcare Professionals
Online tool that calculates an individual's daily nutrient recommendations based on the Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs). For use by registered dietitians, nurse practitioners, doctors and others for dietary planning purposes.
MyPlate
MyPlate, from the USDA, includes nutrition information for over 8000 foods, customizable reports, and recipes.
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference. Release 28
Nutrient database for over 8,618 different foods.
What's In The Foods You Eat Search Tool, 2017-2018
A searchable USDA database with nutrient profiles for 13,000 foods commonly eaten in the U.S. Includes familiar portion sizes.

Analytical Methods and Protocols

Resources for analytical methods and protocols.

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International
Searchable online access to chemical and microbiological analytical methods validated by AOAC International. AOAC-validated methods are used by government, industry, and academia throughout the world for analysis of a variety of commodities—particularly those related to food, agriculture, public health and safety, and the environment.
Springer Nature Experiments
Springer Nature Experiments incorporates Springer Protocols, Nature Methods, and Nature Protocols into one searchable database of laboratory protocols in the biomedical and life sciences. Springer Protocols contains all of the protocols from the book series Methods in Molecular Biology. Both Nature Protocols and Nature Methods are journals containing more recently published techniques.
Wiley Current Protocols Online
Current Protocols has been the leading source of laboratory protocols for over 25
years and now comprises more than 15,000 techniques and procedures across
17 titles.

Laboratory Protocols Resources for the Biological Sciences
Guide to laboratory protocol resources available from the MSU Libraries. Includes handbooks, book series, journals, and video collections.

Surveys and Test Instruments

Resources for finding research surveys and testing instruments. These can often be complicated to locate so do not hesitate to contact Andrea Kepsel, Food Science and Human Nutrition Librarian, at akepsel@msu.edu with questions.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments indexes journal articles that include both free and fee-based information-gathering instruments for clinicians such as tests, questionnaires, and scales. HaPI covers tests used in nursing, psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.

Tests and Testing Information
Guide to finding tests and surveys.

Nutrition Websites

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals.
Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
USDA site for credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Nutrition.gov
U.S. government portal to hundreds of nutrition and health information Web sites for consumers.
Nutrition Resources for Consumers
Part of the MSU Libraries Consumer Health guide. Includes links to nutrition websites and sources of nutrition statistics.
Nutrition Source
Intended to provide timely information on diet and nutrition for clinicians, allied health professionals, and the public. Maintained by the Dept. of Nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health.

Additional Guides

Additional guides from the MSU Libraries on nutrition-related topics.

Human Nutrition
Resources for conducting research in human nutrition and dietetics.
Food Science
Resources for research in the area of food science and technology.
Food Safety
Resources for researching food safety topics and issues.
Food Studies
Food Studies is a growing, interdisciplinary field of interest, encompassing historical, social, cultural, philosophical, political, economic, environmental, and scientific aspects, among others.

Citation Resources

Citation Guides
Links to citation style guides and information on how to cite specific types of information.
Citation Generators
Tools for quickly generating citations in a select number of styles. Generators are maintained by third parties outside the MSU Libraries so always make sure to check generated citations for accuracy.

Citation Management Programs

The MSU Libraries provides support and free training for 3 different citation management programs: EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero.

EndNote
Guide to EndNote and EndNote Online, including information about training offered by the MSU Libraries.
Mendeley
Guide to Mendeley, including information about training offered by the MSU Libraries.
Zotero
Guide to Zotero, including information about training offered by the MSU Libraries.
Papers
ReadCube Papers (Papers3) is another popular citation management software. While the MSU Libraries does not offer support or training for Papers, information is available for using it with the MSU Libraries databases.

Writing and Publishing

Resources for writing in the health sciences and information about open access publishing, impact factors, and more.

Writing in the Medical Sciences
Guide to writing in the medical sciences. Includes resources on the types of writing, terminology, and academic integrity.
Scholarly Communication
Scholarly communication encompasses the systems and processes involved in the creation, dissemination, and preservation of knowledge. This site provides provides more information about the complex issues around author rights, peer-review, access, costs, new models of publishing, preservation, and compliance with research funder policies.

Open Access Publishing

Open Access Publishing
MSU Libraries' webpage detailing the pros, cons, options and procedures related to Open Access Publishing.

Impact Factor and Identifying Highly Cited Publications

Journal Impact Factor
Information on what journal impact factors are, different factors that influence impact factors, and how to find impact factors.

Journal Citation Reports, Science and Social Science
Tool for evaluating the scholarly impact of journals based on citation data. Search by journal title or subject discipline.

Poster Design

Resources for poster design and information for printing posters at the MSU Libraries.

Books

Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively by Patience, Gregory S.
2015, 1st edition
See Chapter 8: Posters that Captivate
Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More by Carter, Matt
2020, 2nd edition
See Part 6: Designing Poster Presentations
How to Do Your Research Project: A Guide for Students in Medicine and The Health Sciences by Beardsmore, Caroline
2013, 1st edition
See Chapter 6: Maximising Impact, specifically sections on oral and poster presentations
Scientific Papers and Presentations by Davis, Martha et al.
2012, 3rd edition
See Chapter 17: Poster Presentations

Websites

How to Create a Better Research Poster in Less Time
Video created by MSU graduate student on how to make posters more efficient and visually engaging. Poster templates are available on OSF.

MSU Libraries Hollander MakeCentral

Posters can be printed at the MSU Libraries Hollander MakeCentral, located on 2 West in the Main Library.

Poster Printing (Plotting) FAQ)
Answers to frequently asked questions on how to print a poster using the plotter.
Tip Sheets for Printing to the Plotter
Instructions for setting up printing to the Hollander MakeCentral Plotter using PowerPoint and Adobe PDF from the Full Applications computers on 2 West.
Using the Hollander MakeCentral Service Desk
Information about services, prices, hours, and more.