Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Extension is accountable to a number of stakeholders—participants, funders, local leaders, collaborators, and other professionals. These stakeholders need information about Extension and its work. By carefully evaluating Extension programs, objective information can be shared about the programming process, the impacts of programming and the changing need for alternative efforts. Applied research and program evaluation results facilitate more objective decision making—and identify opportunities to use scarce resources in creating meaningful change.
ProQuest One Business
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times and the Economist. Also has videos, ebooks, and company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and analyst reports from J.P. Morgan.
Business Source Complete
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
International Extension Practices
Conservation Agriculture by Agriculture in Eastern Europe and Central Asia is diverse, and has great potential to revitalize the economy of the countries in the region via improved productivity (efficiency) and higher total yield for food, fodder and fibre crops. Conservation agriculture can rise to the major challenge of making sustainable intensification of production systems a reality. In order for farmers to transition to appropriate sustainable production systems, the provision of an adequate enabling environment and access to knowledge and services, including extension, mechanization, inputs and market intelligence, are crucial. Farmer Field Schools are the best place for exchanging experience and knowledge about conservation agriculture, building the technical and scientific capacity of national partners, and thus moving towards widespread adoption and uptake of sustainable and viable agricultural practices.
Call Number: S604.64.E852 C67 2019
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Book Recommendations - Print
Assessments A-Z: A collection of 50 questionnaires, instruments, and inventories by
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 B795 2000
Publication Date: 2000-06-05
Your one-stop assessment resource! Save valuable time and resources with this comprehensive and easy-to-use collection of reproducible assessments. With fifty assessments to choose from, you're sure to find one--and probably more!--that suits your training needs.
Note: CD also available.
Benchmarking for Nonprofits by
Call Number: HD62.15 .S28 2004 (Funding Center)
Publication Date: 2004-10-30
This unique book defines a formal way to benchmark. You'll learn how to prepare your organization, measure performance, and implement best practices as well as learning the five key steps of benchmarking, the arguments against benchmarking--and why you should disregard them, how benchmarking differs from evaluation and assessment, how to form a benchmarking team, how to create a "success equation" that helps you measure your organization's performance, how to make sure to measure what matters, how to choose your benchmarking partners--and what you can learn from the "wrong" partner, and how to overcome staff resistance to benchmarking.
Collaborative, Participatory, and Empowerment Evaluation by
Call Number: H62 .F4117 2018
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
From pioneering leaders in the field, this is the first book to provide a solid foundation for three major stakeholder involvement approaches: collaborative, participatory, and empowerment evaluation. Highlighting differences among the approaches, the authors focus on the role of the evaluator, who may be in charge of the evaluation, share control, or serve as a "critical friend," leaving stakeholders in control. Practitioners are guided to select and implement the most appropriate framework for the purpose and scope of a given evaluation and the needs of community members and funders.
Empowerment Evaluation Principles in Practice by
Call Number: H62 .E574 2005
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
This book presents the most current formulation of the 10 principles of EE and provides professionals and students with the tools to put these principles into practice.
Focus Groups: A practical guide for applied research, 5th ed. by
Call Number: H61.28 .K78 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
Using an engaging, straightforward writing style, the authors draw on their more than 50 years of hands-on experience in the field to cut through theory and offer practical guidance on every facet of the focus process, including tips for avoiding problems and pitfalls.
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods: Integrating theory and practice, 4th ed by
Call Number: H62 .P3218 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
This Fourth Edition illuminates all aspects of qualitative inquiry through new examples, stories, and cartoons; more than a hundred new summarizing and synthesizing exhibits; and a wide range of new highlight sections/sidebars that elaborate on important and emergent issues.
SAGE Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods is an online research tool created to help students and researchers across the social and behavioral sciences to design research projects, understand methods or identify new methods, conduct research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of more than 500 specially commissioned case studies of engaging social research projects that highlight project design and methods application.
Book Recommendations - eBooks
Academics in Action!: A model for community-engaged research, teaching, and service by
Call Number: LB1028.24 .A23 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Academics in Action! describes a more integrated model wherein students and faculty work with communities, learn from them, and bring to bear findings from theory and research to generate solutions to community problems. Offering examples of community-engaged theory, scholarship, teaching, and action, Academics in Action! describes the nuanced structures that foster and support their development within a research university. Theory and action span multiple ecological levels from individuals and small groups to organizations and social structures. The communities of engagement range from local neighborhoods and schools to arenas of national policy and international development.
Appreciative Inquiry Handbook: For leaders of change, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: HD58.8 .C65672 2008eb Online
Publication Date: 2008-01-10
The authors provide background information on what AI is and how it works, and offer sample project plans, designs, agendas, course outlines, interview guidelines, participant worksheets, a list of resources, and more. From abstract principles underlying AI to actual tools used in different settings, from detailed descriptions of AI interventions to practical tips to classic AI articles, this workbook presents all of the introductory concepts, examples, and aids necessary to engage yourself and others in Appreciative Inquiry.
Cognitive Interviewing Practice by
Call Number: H97 Online
Publication Date: 2014-12-12
This book provides a practical handbook for implementing cognitive interviewing methods in the context of applied social policy research, based on the approach used by the authors at the NatCen Social Research (NatCen) where cognitive interviewing methods have been used for well over a decade. The book provides a justification for the importance of question testing and evaluation and discusses the position of cognitive interviewing in relation to other questionnaire development and evaluation techniques. Throughout the book, the focus is on providing practical and hands-on guidance around elements such as sampling and recruitment, designing probes, interviewing skills, data management and analysis and how to interpret the findings and use them to improve survey questions and other documents. The book also covers cognitive interviewing in different survey modes, in cross national, cross cultural and multilingual settings and discusses some other potential uses of the method.
Community Profiling: A practical guide, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: HN29 .C626 2007eb Online
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
This book provides a practical step-by-step guide to community profiling, invaluable for anyone involved in community-based research.
Doing Community-Based Research by
Call Number: HM756 .H35 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Community-based research (CBR) offers useful insights into the challenges associated with conducting research and ensuring that it generates both excellent scholarship and positive impacts in the communities where the research takes place.
Empowerment and Participatory Evaluation in Community Interventions by
Call Number: HV40 .E47 2003 Online
Publication Date: 2004-02-27
Program evaluations are more relevant when conducted by the people directly involved in the programs and members of the communities they serve. Learn how empowerment and participatory evaluation can help community programs deliver more effective services! With this book, you'll examine theoretical models, empirical investigations, and case studies that highlight important aspects of empowerment and participatory evaluation in community programs.
The Focus Group Research Handbook by
Call Number: H61.28 .E36 1999eb Online
Publication Date: 1999-05-11
A handbook covering the essentials for all the stage of focus group implementation, including designing and conducting a targeted focus group study selecting the proper research facility, and analysing and incorporating results into the decision making process.
Focus Groups: Applying communication theory through design, facilitation, and analysis by
Call Number: P91.3 .D3847 2017 Online
Publication Date: 2016-11-24
This book helps readers of all stages of experience - including those with no background in focus group research to those practitioners with more focus group expertise - understand how a communication approach to focus groups takes advantage of this discipline's rich scholarship in group communication and discourse analysis
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research by
Call Number: HM1033 .H3556 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
This book is intended to aid the community-oriented researcher in learning about and applying cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. The Handbook presents a number of innovative methodologies relevant to community-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects. These methodological approaches explore individuals and groups in interaction with their communities and provide examples of how to implement and evaluate interventions conducted at the community level.
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by
Call Number: HM538 .D55 2014 Online
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is also thoroughly explained.
The New Human Capital Strategy: Improving the value of your most important investment-- year after year by
Call Number: HD4904.7 .H285 2008 Online
Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Proposing a radical shift in the way organizations measure and manage their people, this book asserts that competitive advantage is a function of four areas of strength: - effective executive teams - leaders who deliver results - outperforming competitors in key positions - workforce performance Using examples, research, and metrics, this essential guide provides readers with a system for ensuring that their people are more valuable this year than the last.
Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
Call Number: H62 .O95 2014 Online
Publication Date: 2014-05-05
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research.
Palgrave International Handbook of Action Research by
Call Number: LB1028.24 .P354 2017eb Online
Publication Date: 2016-10-27
Cross-national issues of networking, as well as the challenges, tensions, and issues associated with the transformative power of action research are explored from multiple perspectives providing unique contributions to our understanding of what it means to do action research and to be an action researcher. This handbook sets a global action research agenda and map for readers to consider as they embark on new projects.
The Power of Appreciative Inquiry: A practical guide to positive change, 2nd by
Call Number: HD30.3 .W52 2010 Online
Publication Date: 2010-03-08
The Power of Appreciative Inquiry describes the internationally embraced approach to organizational change that dramatically improves performance by engaging people to study, discuss, and build upon what's working - strengths - rather than trying to fix what's not. The authors provide a menu of eight results-oriented applications, along with case examples from a wide range of organizations to illustrate Appreciative Inquiry in action.
The Trainer's Handbook by
Call Number: HF5549.5.T7 L344 2016 Online
Publication Date: 2015-12-29
Based on the feedback of workshop participants, readers, and instructors, this new third edition has been expanded to provide guidance toward new technologies, leadership training, distance learning, blended learning, and other increasingly common issues, with new case studies for each chapter. A systematic approach to training breaks the book into five parts that separately target analysis, design, development, delivery, and evaluation, giving you a comprehensive reference designed for quick look-up and easy navigation. New inventories, worksheets, job aids, checklists, activities, samples, and templates help you bring new ideas into the classroom, and updated instructor guide help you seamlessly integrate new and established methods and techniques.