Bibliography on Women in Byzantium. Primary sources in available in translation, an enormous secondary sources bibliography, and some web sites. From Dumbarton Oaks, a research institute in Washington, D.C. area that specializes in resources on Byzantium, Garden/Landscape, and Pre-Columbiana.
Books of Duchesses Mapping Women Book Owners in Francophone Europe 1450-1550
Collects, organizes, and presents data related to late-medieval laywomen and their books. Through an interactive map of Europe, users are able to visualize networks of manuscripts, texts, and readers and explore the libraries and peregrinations of women book owners.
British Library Manuscripts Associated with Medieval and Renaissance Women
As of March 25, 2023 BL says 93 manuscript volumes are now online. Many of these items were nominated by the readers of their blog. They support research into a wide variety of subjects about women — women authors, female patronage and book ownership, women's health, education and business dealings, female spirituality, to name a few.
Christine de Pizan: the Making of the Queen's Manuscript
University of Edinburgh project to make digital transcriptions of works by Christine de Pizan.
Epistolae. Epistolae is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to 13th century. The letters, written in Latin appear under the names of the women involved, with English translations where possible, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic content of the letter. A project, originally, of Joan Ferrante of Columbia University.
Franciscan Women: History and Culture
Information on Poor Clares, female Franciscan Tertiaries and aligned groups from the thirteenth through the eighteenth centuries, giving scholars and interested outsiders i.) a bibliographical overview of the scholarship done thus far in the field of ‘female Franciscan studies’, ii.) a descriptive ‘geographical’ dictionary of all traceable female Franciscan communities with adequate references, and; iii.) an alphabetically organized bio-bibliographical dictionary of individual nuns, tertiary sisters, beguines and anchoresses within the Franciscan fold.
Global Medieval Sourcebook: a Digital Repository of Medieval Texts
Global Medieval Sourcebook (GMS) is a free, open access, and open source teaching and research tool. It offers a flexible online display for the parallel viewing of medieval texts in their original language, in new English translations, and in their digitized manuscript form. From Stanford University. GMS spans one thousand years (600-1600) of literary production across the medieval world (Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, and Asia). It contains primarily short texts of broad interdisciplinary interest in a variety of genres, and many of the texts have not previously been translated into English. Has a section of texts on Gender, Sex, and Sensuality.
Hadassah International Research Institute on Jewish Women at Brandeis University. Notes books, working papers, conference publications available for purchase and, in some cases, for downloading.
How They Lived: an Annotated Tour of Daily Life Through History in Primary Sources
International Joan of Arc Society.
International Marie de France Society
International Society of Hildegard von Bingen Studies
Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Selected Sources Sex and Gender
Paul Halsall, Fordham University. Points to primary sources online for women's roles in religion, as writers, in and out of the home, in different economic levels in society, etc.; men's roles, construction of sexuality and gender; marriage.
Mapping Margery Kempe: a Guide to Late Medieval Material and Spiritual Life
A digital library of resources for studying the cultural and social matrix of The Book of Margery Kempe. A goal of this site is to provide access to the material culture of Kempe's 15th century world, and especially the dynamic world of the parish. Materials at this site include a unique and extensive database of images of East Anglian parish churches. Other resources include the Middle English text and related devotional writings and saints' lives; documents about daily life, politics and commerce in 15th century Lynn; maps of pilgrimage routes; a gallery of devotional images; and bibliography and guides for teaching. From College of the Holy Cross, U.S.
Margery Kempe Online
Digital facsimile of The Book of Margery Kempe alongside a modern transcription in facing page format. Facsimile and transcription of de Worde's printed edition. Comprehensive bibliography. By Joel Fredell, Southeast Louisiana University.
Marriage and Sexuality in Medieval Europe. This is the syllabus for a course with this title, taught at Cornell University, spring semester, 2000 by Paul Hyams, a luminary in this field. Has some texts appended.
Medieval and Renaissance Studies
This guide is a list of scholarly resources in Medieval, Renaissance, and Early Modern Studies. Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field. It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries. Users are free to copy and edit content from this guide for their own purposes.
Medieval Jewish Women in History, Literature, Law and Art: a Bibliography
By Cheryl Tallan. This version is a page on ORB Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies. Possibly not updated since 2006, but is extensive.
Medieval Londoners Database
MLD allows you to search for details about people who lived in London, Southwark or Westminster between c. 1100 and c. 1520, including their names, gender, occupations, craft memberships, citizenship status, civic office, and neighborhoods (ward, parish, and streets, if available), and other characteristics.
Medieval West--Additional Web Resources. This is another M.S.U. Libraries' research/subject guide providing more web sites for medieval studies in general.
Monastic Matrix: a Scholarly Resource for the Student of Women's Religious Communities from 400 to 1600 CE. An ongoing, collaborative effort of international scholars of medieval history, art history, archaeology, religion, and other disciplines, as well as librarians and experts in computer technology. The goal is to document the participation of Christian women in the religion and society of medieval Europe, 400-1600. Uses both primary and secondary sources, although the basis is unpublished archival material. The basis of Matrix is the Monasticon, a repertory of profiles of women's religious communities. Biographies of individuals associated with communities in the Monasticon. Chartulary of primary source documents. Bibliography of over 5000 published and unpublished sources, which aims to be a comprehensive database of citations related to women's religious lives. Glossary. Archive of articles. Visual Library (images).
ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies: Women's Studies
ORB is a cooperative effort on the part of scholars across the Internet to establish an online textbook source for medieval studies on the internet. Includes links to existing medieval resources, the ORB encyclopedia, resources for teaching, e-texts, and the ORB library. Here is the section for women's studies.
Robbins Library Digital Projects. From University of Rochester. Projects: Camelot. Teams Middle English Texts. Robin Hood. Crusades. Cinderella Bibliography. Visualizing Chaucer. Overall search by keyword. Also search within each project. Names of women and topics of interest to them can be entered.
Roman de la Rose Digital Library
From Johns Hopkins University and the BNF. Goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create an online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose. Has a link at top right for Christine de Pizan Digital Scriptorium.
St. Albans Psalter Website
Project of the University of Aberdeen. A psalter made for Christina of Markyate. Site contains page images, translations, transcriptions, and secondary essays about the work including a bibliography.
St. Birgitta of Sweden and Her Revelations
A Swedish mystic and saint, and founder of the Bridgettines nuns and monks after the death of her husband of twenty years.
ViVa Women's History
From International Institute of Social History of the Royal Netherlands Academic of Arts and Sciences. Current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Contains articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish selected from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. Over 12,000 records describing articles from 1975 onwards. Search topics. Browse by year.
Women Writers of the Middle Ages
A bibliography by Juliet Sloger, Robbins Library, University of Rochester.