Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Selected Resources for Latin American History: Newspapers

Digitized Latin American/Caribbean Historical Newspapers

World Newspaper Archives: Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922

A fully searchable collection of Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes a small number of Caribbean papers; for more titles and different years of coverage, try the Caribbean Newspapers collection below.

Caribbean Newspapers. Series 1, 1718-1876: From the American Antiquarian Society.

 Provides 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands. Contents chiefly in English, French, and Spanish. 

Google News Archive

Currently there are some Latin American newspapers, mostly Mexican, available as a result of a now abandoned Google project to digitize newspapers. See box on the right for a listing.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean. Currently the project has been granted permissions to digitize over three dozen newspaper titles, most current, a few historic.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press

Published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. From Sonora: El Boletin Oficial and its successor, La Constitucion.

Current Newspaper Databases that Include Latin American Titles

Access World News

A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, news wires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

PressReader

Same-day access to more than 1000 newspapers from the U.S. and more than 80 other countries. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive. Use the drop down menu "Select Title" to see papers organized by country or by language. Limit: 5 MSU users at a time.

Gale OneFile

Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of major national and international newspapers. Includes the New York Times (1985-current).

Offers 20 Spanish language newspapers. Click on the "Publication Search" option and specify Spanish in the Language of Publication search box. A list of Spanish-language newspapers with dates of coverage can be retrieved by using the "Publication Search" option and specifying Spanish in the Language of Publication search box.

One Brazilian newspaper is offered, O Globo de Brasil (March 2006-current).

Historical Mexican Newspapers on Microfilm

Independent Mexico in Newspapers: The 19th Century. Guide to the Microfilm Set.

A guide to 579 Mexican newspaper titles preserved on microfilm by the University of Texas at Austin. Issues span nearly the entire 19th century, from 1807-1900. About half the titles were published in the Distrito Federal; the other half were published in cities from 26 Mexican states. The majority of the total pages filmed however, were published in Mexico City (81%). The film is available through interlibrary loan.

Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers, 1900-1929. A Guide to the Microfilm Set

A guide to Mexican newspapers filmed by the University of Texas at Austin. 227,930 pages from 560 Mexican newspaper titles, most dating from 1900 to 1929, have been preserved on microfilm. These are issues rarely held in U.S. libraries. The film is available through interlibrary loan.

Google News Archive

TITLE
# OF ISSUES DATES
Diario del Hogar  (MEXICO) 8,477 issues Sep 16, 1881 - Nov 15, 1914
El Abogado Cristiano   (MEXICO) 1,047 issues Aug 1, 1880 - Dec 26, 1929
El Alacran  (MEXICO) 34 issues Sep 3, 1899 - May 19, 1900
El Asilo de Mendigos
(MEXICO) 38 issues Jul 1, 1879 - Oct 31, 1889
El Bautista (MEXICO) 127 issues May 19, 1910 - Dec 26, 1912
El Correo del Comercio (MEXICO) 1,374 issues Sep 15, 1871 - Oct 12, 1876
El Correo Espanol   (MEXICO) 7,147 issues Nov 9, 1889 - Dec 31, 1914
El Cronista Musical 34 issues May 1, 1887 - Dec 25, 1887
El Cruzado (MEXICO) 60 issues Jul 22, 1893 - Sep 16, 1894
El Diario de Nueva York
(USA, New York) 248 issues Jan 2, 1962 - Apr 29, 1963
El Diario la Prensa (USA, New York) 689 issues May 2, 1963 - Jun 21, 1968
El Monitor Republicano (MEXICO) 469 issues Jul 1, 1884 - Dec 31, 1885
El Nacional (MEXICO) 3,784 issues Apr 1, 1890 - Dec 31, 1918
El Pais  (MEXICO) 4,423 issues Sep 26, 1900 - Aug 22, 1914
El Pajaro Verde (MEXICO) 1,960 issues May 13, 1865 - Dec 31, 1886
El Partido Liberal (MEXICO) 2,777 issues Nov 13, 1886 - Oct 15, 1896
El Siglo Diez Y Nueve (MEXICO) 967 issues Jun 25,1893 - Oct 15, 1896
El Tiempo (COLOMBIA) 21,397 issues Feb 2, 1911 - Mar 31, 2007
El Universal  (MEXICO) 5,194 issues Nov 16, 1848 - Dec 7, 1901
Jornal do Brasil  (BRAZIL) 18,167 issues Apr 8, 1891 - Dec 31, 1999
La Nacion (COSTA RICA) 9,480 issues Nov 13, 1945 - Dec 31, 1991
La Opinion (USA, Los Angeles) 23,971 issues Mar 8, 1891 - Sep 30, 2008
La Sociedad  (MEXICO) 1,915 issues Dec 26, 1857 - Mar 31, 1867
Michigan State University