Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Selected Resources for Latin American History: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

Current Indexes

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. Both cover Hispanics in the United States.    

Prisma

More than 200 full-text titles are currently available, most with a backfile to the year 2002, with some back to the mid-nineties. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index)

 Provides access to articles in journals published in Latin America, but also indexes the Latin America-related content of many major North American and European journals. Coverage of journals from 1970 to the present. 

About a third of citations are linked to full-text outside of HAPI. Click through the Article Linker for full-text access from other sources.

Tip: HAPI assumes truncation. For example, “argentin” would return results including “argentina”, “argentine”, “argentinian”, etc.

Historical Abstracts

Citations to articles, books, and dissertations for all regions except the U.S. & Canada. Index coverage of journals from 1954 forward, providing access to historical articles for the Modern period (1492-present).

Retrospective Indexes

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1962. 8 vols.

[Z1605 .I55 Remote Storage]

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature. Humanities and Social Sciences. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1961-
[Z1605 .I551 Main Stacks] Coverage from 1960-1970.

LAPTOC

Provides access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, many not indexed elsewhere. LAPTOC coverage: 900 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region.  Most of the articles indexed in LAPTOC were published between 1994 and 2009.  Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.

NO LINKS to FULL TEXT; NO FULL TEXT SEARCHING.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital archive of core scholary journals, providing access to issues from inception of journal to within a few years of the present.

Oxford Bibliographies

Authoritative guides leading to recommended scholarly resources. The subject module for Latin American Studies is organized into 87 topics, each beginning with a brief introductory essay.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter
Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University