Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Selected Resources for Latin American History: Bibliographies

Handbook of Latin American Studies

The Handbook is a selective, annotated subject bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. The print edition of the Handbook has been issued annually since 1935, with volumes alternating between coverage in the social sciences and humanities since 1962. It is on the Web as HLAS Web and HLAS Online.

HLAS Online

To search the historical record of Latin American studies scholarship you need to consult HLAS Online, which includes all volumes since vol. 1 (1935). Try basic keyword searches, then utilized the assigned subject headings in a given record.

The introductory essays for volumes 1-49 (1935-1989) of the Handbook are also searchable in HLAS Online. To search only the essays, use the "Annotation and HLAS Chapter Introduction" field in the Expert Search form.

HLAS Web

Coverage is of vol. 44 (1982) and forward only. Offers a guided search feature and the ability to limit and sort search results by date or author. The essays in vols. 50-65 (1990-2010) are only available as hard-coded links from the TOCs page, as noted above.

The Handbook Essays, 1990-2010

The Handbook essays are chapter introductions that provide a "state of the research" overview for a particular field. The essays for vols. 50-65 (1990-2010) are linked from the individual volume Tables of Contents pages.

Handbook of Latin American Studies.
[Z1601 .H23 Main]

The print volumes are particularly useful for browsing the subject essays in the latest volumes. The essays for vols. 62-71 (2002-2016) are only available in the print volumes.

In Print Only

Current 

Bibliography of Latin American Bibliographies. Madison, Wisc.: SALALM Secretariat, Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1983-1984. Annual. [Z1601 .A2 B4 Remote Storage]

Bibliography of Latin American and Caribbean Bibliographies. Madison, Wisc.: SALALM Secretariat, Memorial Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1986- Annual. [Z1601 .A2 B4 Remote Storage]

Retrospective

A Bibliography of Latin American Bibliographies. Arthur E. Gropp. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1968.
[Z1601.A2 G76 1968 Remote Storage]
First Supplement: Z1601 .A2 J7 1968 Suppl.
Second Supplement: Z1601 .A2 J7 1968 Suppl.2
Third Supplement: Z1601 .A2 J7 1968 Suppl.3
A final update, edited by Lionel Lorona, brought coverage up to 1989: Z1601.A2 B41 1993

The Complete Caribbeana, 1900-1975: A Bibliographic Guide to the Scholarly Literature. Lambros Comitas. Millwood, N.Y.: KTO Press, c1977. 4 vols. [Z1595 .C63 Main]

Especially valuable for non-Hispanic Caribbean research.

Finding Bibliographies in the Catalog

Use this Advanced Keyword Search command:

SUBJECT: bibliography
AND  Any Field:  [term]

CCILA

The Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos hasta 1851  

"A database created from transcribed bibliographies."

European Views of the Americas, 1493-1750

European Views of the Americas is the online version of the authoritative print bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1776. [Z1203 .E87 Main]

Travel Literature

Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia. 
[G465 .L565 Area Studies Reference]

Utilize geographic entries for bibliographies of travel writing.

Environmental History

Online Bibliography on Latin American Enviromental History

References to articles, books, videos, and websites in English, Spanish and Portuguese.

Questions?

Ask Mary Jo Zeter
Latin American & Caribbean Studies Bibliographer

Michigan State University