Annual bibliographies and indexes to articles provide access to the most recently written and indexed materials on topics.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles in over 400 humanities periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature since 1984. Prior to 1984 it is a book index, in Main at AI 3 .H8, called Humanities Index. Useful to find your subject heading in the print volumes and then look for it in the Web version. ***Try Abelard, Peter (the way to look for info about particular people); alchemy; women and history and middle ages (subject field); medieval education.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index. Covers articles from 1994 from some 400 journals, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages (450-1500) in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East. Publications may be in English, French, German, Spanish or Italian (only since 2001). Excludes books by single authors (check MAGIC).
BAMAT Bibliographie Annuelle du Moyen Age Tardif
An annual bibliography about authors and texts from the last centuries of the Middle Ages, 1250-1535, including work on manuscripts of the period that are cited in catalogues by library collections, by genres, or by authors as well as in editions or other studies. Includes 115,000 some citations, since 1992, covering 10,000 historical authors and over 48,000 manuscripts and 60,000 incipits. Numerous search fields available, including manuscript, work, author, modern author, incipt, free text, etc. Basic search is freely accessible. HOWEVER, advanced search and viewing of results requires a subscription to the resource which MSU Libraries does not have, as of spring, 2021.
Iter: Gateway to Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter Indexes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues). Iter is the Latin word for journey, way, or road; our word Itinerary comes from this word.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, the goal being to provide access online to some of the oldest periodical literature, back into the late 18th century when periodicals were invented in the Western world. Has both browse and search capabilities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will likely be 4-5 years old. Best to use Advanced Search, which requires specifying what discipline of journals you seek information from; this helps to ensure that the keyword in title/abstract/full text search terms you enter will be used in the way your field uses them. The full text of the whole back run of Speculum, one of the key journals on the medieval period, is available in JSTOR.
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOver six hundred journals from more than 240 not-for-profit, scholarly publishers are currently offered in Project Muse. Years available vary by journal, usually from about 2003 to the present. The subject searching in Project Muse uses the same L.C. subject headings that are used in MSU Libraries' online catalog. Keyword searching is also possible.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary index to currently written articles in over 2,000 periodicals in general interest publications and most scholarly fields, with links to online texts of some of the articles. Many journals indexed here are also indexed in the various other disciplinary periodical indexes listed in this section of this research guide. ***Try women (subject) and medieval (article title); middle ages (subject) and alchemy (article title); canon (article title) and law (article title) and middle ages (subject); heloise (article title) and abelard (article title) all in guided search.
Bibliographie Annuelle de l'Histoire de France du Cinquieme Siecle a 1958, Main Z 2176 .B5. In French. The major annual bibliography of French history. Indexes both books and articles, French ones, but offers no annotations. See the chapter for Histoire Sociale. Within this chapter there is a section on la famille, la femme, et l'enfant containing a sub-section on le Moyen Age. Probably also other useful sections for those with good French language skills.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Interface)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new windowThe Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920 - 1999. The bibliography consists of 78 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually; a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 have been indexed retrospectively.
Year's Work in English Studies, Remote Storage PE 58 .E6. Similar to the entry just above, but also evaluates the importance or nature of the items indexed. A leading review journal in the field. Studies are drawn from books and articles published in Great Britain, U.S., and Continental Europe. Also covers works about language. Arranged chronologically by period. Indexed by author and subject.
Year's Work in Modern Language Studies, Remote Storage PB 1 .Y45. A selective, evaluative review of research on Romance, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic languages and literatures. Organized by language or geographic area. Covers medieval Latin literature, also. 1930-1994 available in Periodicals Archive Online, see above.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowClassical and Medieval Literature Criticism is one of the parts of LCO. It contains excerpts from criticism of the works of world authors from classical antiquity through the 14th century, from the first appraisals to current evaluations. Once in LCO, enter your search words at the top of the screen. Then scroll down to "More options" area of the work form. Next to "Products/series", click on the down arrow next to the box "all electronic resources". Use your computer mouse to un-check the other parts of this electronic resource; leave "Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism" checked. Then your search should only be performed on this part of the database.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Theological Library Association, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. It includes bibliographic records for material about the Bible, archaeology and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; and theology, philosophy and ethics. It is updated monthly.
Content includes:
Full-text articles and reviews from over 480 journals (the Atla PLUS part)
Over 2.8 million records, including:
Indexing of 2300 plus journal titles in total, more than 1,000 of which are currently being indexed,
More than 276,000 essay records,
More than 940,000 review records,
More than 411,000 book records.
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism (the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), Atla CPLI content now enhances Atla RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexes and abstracts for articles in books and journals in philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields. Use the Index to find the proper wording for descriptors (the subject headings).
International Philosophical Bibliography, Remote Storage Z 7127 .R42 and DMC Z7127 .R42 1997-2000 on CD ROM. Use this to supplement a search in Philosopher's Index, above. A combination, in 1994, of the French Repertoire Bibliographique de la Philosophie, Main, Z 7127 .R42 and a German source. Indexes both books and articles in many languages.
Isis. Coverage full-text via JSTOR for 1913-1996 issues. A scholarly journal from the History of Science Society publishing scholarly articles, book reviews, and a bibliography on the history of science, medicine, and technology. From March, 1993 indexing via ProQuest, with full-text available from March, 2002 on. There are print bibliographies, Isis Cumulative Bibliography, 1913-1965 Remote Storage, 1966-1985 in Oversize 3 West Z 7405 .H6 I28.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new windowIndexes biomedical literature published from the 1960s to the present, which may include articles on the history of medicine topics.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThis is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies from the publisher, within the website here. Sometimes we can borrow dissertations on interlibrary loan; see the link in the Libraries home page for Interlibrary Services.
Medioevo Latino: Bollettino Bibliografico della Cultura Europea da Secolo VI al XV. Remote Storage Z 6203 .M43 1980 Published in Italy but has citations to materials published in Germany, France, Britain, etc. with abstracts in these languages.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine This link opens in a new windowThis database covers all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials. EBSCOhost platform.
