Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Medieval West - Reference Sources: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Medieval Scandinavia

This is a guide to reference sources on the medieval West: guides to the literature, periodical indexes, encyclopedias/dictionaries, atlases/maps, biography, book length bibliographies.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Medieval Scandinavia

Medieval Scandinavia, an Encyclopedia, Main DL 30 .M43 1993. Covers Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, and Norway from the migration period to the Reformation. Signed articles range on persons, topics, and places, from a long paragraph to several pages in length and include extensive further reading references.

Black Death and Later Plague Epidemics in the Scandinavian Countries: Perspectives and Controversies  Main RC 178 .S34 B457 2016  A huge work, by one scholar, Ole Benedictow, but much commentary on and presentation of the work of other scholars.  Several sections.  These include:  a long introduction about plague.  The Black Death in Norway 1348-49. Black Death in Norway: Arrival, Spread, Mortality, Discussions.  Black Death in Norway 1348-49, Sources, Chronology, Spread, Discussions.Spread of the Black Death in Norway, Revisionists, Spread Rates, etc.  Sociology of Plague.  Human-Flea Theory of Plague Epidemiology. Black Rats in the Nordic Scandinavian Countries.  Relevance of Recent Theories on the Microbiological Identity and Epidemiology of Plague...  Eight Alternative Theory on the Plague Epidemics of the Past.  On the Theories that Plague Epidemics of the Past were Spread by Cross-Infection by Human Lice...  Problems with the Early Phase Theory of Transmission...General Bibliography.   A sort of second volume to the author's What Disease was Plague...?, Main RC 172 .B47 2010

Vikings, an Encyclopedia of Conflict, Invasions, and Raids  Main DL 65 .M84 2022

Detailed coverage of the Vikings, infamous for their violent marauding across Europe in the early Middle Ages.  Five essays precede an alphabetical arrangement of topical entries.  The essays cover sources about the Vikings, Vikings at home, explorations and expansion, weaponry and warfare, and the way of the warrior.  Entries include topics, events, battles, places, individuals,  Further readings for each article.  Glossary.  Overall bibliography.  Two authors have written all the entries.  One is a runic specialist and independent research in Scandinavian studies.  The other author is a professor of Old Norse and Scandinavian linguistics at U. of Wisconsin.  Together they have also authored Vikings: Facts and Fictions (see next entry). This is a work specifically on the warfare aspects of the Vikings.

Vikings: Facts and Fictions Main DL 65 .W6552 2018

Michigan State University